Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1177689374345089028
Post Reopened by Jens Erat, fixer1234, Excellll, Kevin Panko, Scott - Слава Україні
edited title
Link
Kevin Panko
  • 7.4k
  • 23
  • 45
  • 53

How do Ito identify and remove unnecessary files from Windows Driverstore?

deleted 177 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Kevin Panko
  • 7.4k
  • 23
  • 45
  • 53

How do I unbloatremove unnecessary files from Windows Driverstore?

My windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepositoryWindows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository is 48 Gigabytes in size.

That is way bigger than I have ever seen anywhere else, and is way ofout of proportion for a 128GB SSD.

I know how to list the files in it, and I know how to delete them individually.

What I do not know is Which drivers are unnecessary, and which can I delete?

Any clues on how I can find that out would be much appreciated.

Windows 7, Home premium, Service pack 1, fully up to dateuse Windows 7, Home Premium, with Service pack 1, and fully up to date.

Windows Disk Cleanup and PrivaZer have not reduced the file size.

EDIT:

Techie007 has very rapidly responded to say that this answers theThe question:

  How do I delete folders from the Windows 7 DriverStore?

To my mind, it does is not.....It a duplicate of this one because it does not (as far as I can see) address the core issue of my question:ask How do I know a driver in the driver store CAN be safely deleted?

How do I unbloat Windows Driverstore?

My windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository is 48 Gigabytes in size.

That is way bigger than I have ever seen anywhere else, and is way of of proportion for a 128GB SSD.

I know how to list the files in it, and I know how to delete them individually.

What I do not know is Which drivers are unnecessary, and which can I delete?

Any clues on how I can find that out would be much appreciated.

Windows 7, Home premium, Service pack 1, fully up to date.

Windows Disk Cleanup and PrivaZer have not reduced the file size.

EDIT:

Techie007 has very rapidly responded to say that this answers the question:

How do I delete folders from the Windows 7 DriverStore?

To my mind, it does not.....It does not (as far as I can see) address the core issue of my question: How do I know a driver in the driver store CAN be safely deleted?

How do I remove unnecessary files from Windows Driverstore?

My Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository is 48 Gigabytes in size.

That is way bigger than I have ever seen anywhere else, and is way out of proportion for a 128GB SSD.

I know how to list the files in it, and I know how to delete them individually.

What I do not know is Which drivers are unnecessary, and which can I delete?

I use Windows 7, Home Premium, with Service pack 1, and fully up to date.

Windows Disk Cleanup and PrivaZer have not reduced the file size.

The question  How do I delete folders from the Windows 7 DriverStore? is not a duplicate of this one because it does not ask How do I know a driver in the driver store CAN be safely deleted?

added 361 characters in body
Source Link

My windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository is 48 Gigabytes in size.

That is way bigger than I have ever seen anywhere else, and is way of of proportion for a 128GB SSD.

I know how to list the files in it, and I know how to delete them individually.

What I do not know is Which drivers are unnecessary, and which can I delete?

Any clues on how I can find that out would be much appreciated.

Windows 7, Home premium, Service pack 1, fully up to date.

Windows Disk Cleanup and PrivaZer have not reduced the file size.

EDIT:

Techie007 has very rapidly responded to say that this answers the question:

How do I delete folders from the Windows 7 DriverStore?

To my mind, it does not.....It does not (as far as I can see) address the core issue of my question: How do I know a driver in the driver store CAN be safely deleted?

My windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository is 48 Gigabytes in size.

That is way bigger than I have ever seen anywhere else, and is way of of proportion for a 128GB SSD.

I know how to list the files in it, and I know how to delete them individually.

What I do not know is Which drivers are unnecessary, and which can I delete?

Any clues on how I can find that out would be much appreciated.

Windows 7, Home premium, Service pack 1, fully up to date.

Windows Disk Cleanup and PrivaZer have not reduced the file size.

My windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository is 48 Gigabytes in size.

That is way bigger than I have ever seen anywhere else, and is way of of proportion for a 128GB SSD.

I know how to list the files in it, and I know how to delete them individually.

What I do not know is Which drivers are unnecessary, and which can I delete?

Any clues on how I can find that out would be much appreciated.

Windows 7, Home premium, Service pack 1, fully up to date.

Windows Disk Cleanup and PrivaZer have not reduced the file size.

EDIT:

Techie007 has very rapidly responded to say that this answers the question:

How do I delete folders from the Windows 7 DriverStore?

To my mind, it does not.....It does not (as far as I can see) address the core issue of my question: How do I know a driver in the driver store CAN be safely deleted?

Post Closed as "Duplicate" by Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007 windows-7
Source Link
Loading