Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
added info about close vote
Source Link
private_meta
  • 2.5k
  • 5
  • 27
  • 38

In Windows 7 I used to have my Sound set up that I had my Headset plugged in at my front audio ports, and my speakers plugged in in the rear. I used to use the "Playback Devices" menu to switch the default playback device depending on what I needed.

When switching to Windows 10, the updater/setup automatically installed a "Realktek HD Audio Manager" (which is the manufacturer), however that driver removed the ability to do that. I can now no longer switch devices in the Playback devices, both front and back connectors are the same "device". I have to use the Audio Manager in an annoying way.

I tried uninstalling the the Audio Manager, and that works for a short time, but apparently Windows reinstalls it every time. Is there a way to work around the Audio Manager screwing up my sound management. Another way to help me would be to figure out how to avoid Windows reinstalling that application every time without asking me. Is there a way to do one of those two things?

Edit: I actually like the automated installation of most drivers on the system. The problem lies with that one, so disabling ALL automated installation isn't really what I wanted.

In Windows 7 I used to have my Sound set up that I had my Headset plugged in at my front audio ports, and my speakers plugged in in the rear. I used to use the "Playback Devices" menu to switch the default playback device depending on what I needed.

When switching to Windows 10, the updater/setup automatically installed a "Realktek HD Audio Manager" (which is the manufacturer), however that driver removed the ability to do that. I can now no longer switch devices in the Playback devices, both front and back connectors are the same "device". I have to use the Audio Manager in an annoying way.

I tried uninstalling the the Audio Manager, and that works for a short time, but apparently Windows reinstalls it every time. Is there a way to work around the Audio Manager screwing up my sound management. Another way to help me would be to figure out how to avoid Windows reinstalling that application every time without asking me. Is there a way to do one of those two things?

In Windows 7 I used to have my Sound set up that I had my Headset plugged in at my front audio ports, and my speakers plugged in in the rear. I used to use the "Playback Devices" menu to switch the default playback device depending on what I needed.

When switching to Windows 10, the updater/setup automatically installed a "Realktek HD Audio Manager" (which is the manufacturer), however that driver removed the ability to do that. I can now no longer switch devices in the Playback devices, both front and back connectors are the same "device". I have to use the Audio Manager in an annoying way.

I tried uninstalling the the Audio Manager, and that works for a short time, but apparently Windows reinstalls it every time. Is there a way to work around the Audio Manager screwing up my sound management. Another way to help me would be to figure out how to avoid Windows reinstalling that application every time without asking me. Is there a way to do one of those two things?

Edit: I actually like the automated installation of most drivers on the system. The problem lies with that one, so disabling ALL automated installation isn't really what I wanted.

Source Link
private_meta
  • 2.5k
  • 5
  • 27
  • 38

Keep the Realtek application off my computer in Windows 10

In Windows 7 I used to have my Sound set up that I had my Headset plugged in at my front audio ports, and my speakers plugged in in the rear. I used to use the "Playback Devices" menu to switch the default playback device depending on what I needed.

When switching to Windows 10, the updater/setup automatically installed a "Realktek HD Audio Manager" (which is the manufacturer), however that driver removed the ability to do that. I can now no longer switch devices in the Playback devices, both front and back connectors are the same "device". I have to use the Audio Manager in an annoying way.

I tried uninstalling the the Audio Manager, and that works for a short time, but apparently Windows reinstalls it every time. Is there a way to work around the Audio Manager screwing up my sound management. Another way to help me would be to figure out how to avoid Windows reinstalling that application every time without asking me. Is there a way to do one of those two things?