Skip to main content
replaced manufacturer meta tag
Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123
added 25 characters in body
Source Link
Jan Doggen
  • 4.3k
  • 11
  • 40
  • 53

Recently I purchased a Lenovo Y70 Touch with pre-installed Windows 8.1 for my girlfriend. It seemed to fit her usage as a casual gamer. However, it's become very slow, after a few weeks of usage. Simple browsing and streaming works fairly well but games are completly unplayable as they lag severely. From simple games like Agar.io or old games like Fallout 2 to more advanced like Star Craft 2. It's a far cry from this review: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Y70-Notebook-Review.128841.0.html

I've tried the following to no avail:

  • Updating nVidia drivers to the latest
  • Changing the settings to make nVidia my default graphics card
  • Disabling internal graphics card
  • Scanning for malware and viruses

Another thing that bothers me is the nVidia control panel which only shows 3D-settings and nothing more:
enter image description here

The only thing I haven't done is completely whiping the computer and make a clean install with one of my own Windows 8.1 licenses. But I would think that dispite all the pre-installed "bloatware" simple games would still run smothely. After all, I payed for "Best Touch Screen Gaming Laptop" as Lenovo boasts. I wouldn't think that everything that comes pre-installed would slow it down THAT much. I would think that I can use it right off the bat.

Does anyone have any ideas?

The machine has 16 GB

Recently I purchased a Lenovo Y70 Touch with pre-installed Windows 8.1 for my girlfriend. It seemed to fit her usage as a casual gamer. However, it's become very slow, after a few weeks of usage. Simple browsing and streaming works fairly well but games are completly unplayable as they lag severely. From simple games like Agar.io or old games like Fallout 2 to more advanced like Star Craft 2. It's a far cry from this review: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Y70-Notebook-Review.128841.0.html

I've tried the following to no avail:

  • Updating nVidia drivers to the latest
  • Changing the settings to make nVidia my default graphics card
  • Disabling internal graphics card
  • Scanning for malware and viruses

Another thing that bothers me is the nVidia control panel which only shows 3D-settings and nothing more:
enter image description here

The only thing I haven't done is completely whiping the computer and make a clean install with one of my own Windows 8.1 licenses. But I would think that dispite all the pre-installed "bloatware" simple games would still run smothely. After all, I payed for "Best Touch Screen Gaming Laptop" as Lenovo boasts. I wouldn't think that everything that comes pre-installed would slow it down THAT much. I would think that I can use it right off the bat.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Recently I purchased a Lenovo Y70 Touch with pre-installed Windows 8.1 for my girlfriend. It seemed to fit her usage as a casual gamer. However, it's become very slow, after a few weeks of usage. Simple browsing and streaming works fairly well but games are completly unplayable as they lag severely. From simple games like Agar.io or old games like Fallout 2 to more advanced like Star Craft 2. It's a far cry from this review: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Y70-Notebook-Review.128841.0.html

I've tried the following to no avail:

  • Updating nVidia drivers to the latest
  • Changing the settings to make nVidia my default graphics card
  • Disabling internal graphics card
  • Scanning for malware and viruses

Another thing that bothers me is the nVidia control panel which only shows 3D-settings and nothing more:
enter image description here

The only thing I haven't done is completely whiping the computer and make a clean install with one of my own Windows 8.1 licenses. But I would think that dispite all the pre-installed "bloatware" simple games would still run smothely. After all, I payed for "Best Touch Screen Gaming Laptop" as Lenovo boasts. I wouldn't think that everything that comes pre-installed would slow it down THAT much. I would think that I can use it right off the bat.

Does anyone have any ideas?

The machine has 16 GB

Source Link
Sandokan
  • 220
  • 2
  • 3
  • 16

Lenovo Y70 is very slow

Recently I purchased a Lenovo Y70 Touch with pre-installed Windows 8.1 for my girlfriend. It seemed to fit her usage as a casual gamer. However, it's become very slow, after a few weeks of usage. Simple browsing and streaming works fairly well but games are completly unplayable as they lag severely. From simple games like Agar.io or old games like Fallout 2 to more advanced like Star Craft 2. It's a far cry from this review: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Y70-Notebook-Review.128841.0.html

I've tried the following to no avail:

  • Updating nVidia drivers to the latest
  • Changing the settings to make nVidia my default graphics card
  • Disabling internal graphics card
  • Scanning for malware and viruses

Another thing that bothers me is the nVidia control panel which only shows 3D-settings and nothing more:
enter image description here

The only thing I haven't done is completely whiping the computer and make a clean install with one of my own Windows 8.1 licenses. But I would think that dispite all the pre-installed "bloatware" simple games would still run smothely. After all, I payed for "Best Touch Screen Gaming Laptop" as Lenovo boasts. I wouldn't think that everything that comes pre-installed would slow it down THAT much. I would think that I can use it right off the bat.

Does anyone have any ideas?