Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Well that works... Sort of (it's REALLY slow now). How do I get Xephyr to run in a separate vt so that I can switch with Ctrl+Alt+F7/8/9?
    – Beefster
    Commented Jul 4, 2015 at 16:15
  • Ah, I think I know what the problem is. I did some reading today, and vanilla Xephyr only supports software rendering of OpenGL. A forked version exists which supports hardware accelerated 3D rendering. You would need to compile it from the source which is available here:gitorious.org/xephyr-with-gl-acceleration/…: Regarding switching VT, Xephyr is specifically a nested xserver solution, so it has to be inside of another instance of X.
    – blendenzo
    Commented Jul 5, 2015 at 4:34
  • Ah. I see. Then that's not really what I want. Thanks for trying though.
    – Beefster
    Commented Jul 12, 2015 at 21:00