Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

replaced http://askubuntu.com/ with https://askubuntu.com/
Source Link

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via linklink)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

inline screenshot
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

I just got a Lenovo X1 Carbon and I am flabbergasted on dual booting -- having the record in the boot manager.

###Cliff Notes

  • It came with Windows 8.1.
  • I shrunk the Windows partition (within windows disk management)
  • I installed Ubuntu via USB
  • The installation is good, but the boot loaders are wrong

###Things I've tried:

  • I have BIOS in Both Legacy/EUFI mode, Legacy First
  • Using EasyBCD, adding an Ubuntu Record and Saving the "Deployment" (Did nothing)
  • Turned off Secure Boot (Wasn't on)
  • Quick Boot is still on (Does this matter? Shows Lenovo logo rather than the normal PC startup info)
  • Reinstalled Grub2 Bootloader (Successfull install via link)

###The Only Way it Works

  • If I set BIOS to Legacy only, but then Windows won't work.

I don't care which boot loader runs, I prefer Grub but don't really care I just want the option to boot to either. Does anyone know what I can do? :)

enter image description here

Source Link
JREAM
  • 279
  • 4
  • 14
Loading