Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • thanks, I will try this. I assumed that since I used the Windows regedit.exe export command, there could not be any issues with formatting etc. I do not think that one entry that imported successfully had line breaks, which is probably why it worked.
    – Roberto
    Commented Jun 23, 2015 at 19:55
  • just to clarify, should it be CRLF for linebreaks? I added a screenshot in the original post showing that the file appears to have a number of breaks that did not show up when I pasted to superuser.
    – Roberto
    Commented Jun 23, 2015 at 20:11
  • @Roberto Yes, version 5 files have Unicode encoding and CRLF line endings. You can verify this by looking at an export.
    – Reg Edit
    Commented Jun 23, 2015 at 20:33
  • thanks again. A limitation of this approach is that I obviously lost all of the line breaks that were desirable in order to organize the queries. The binary approach alternately proposed seemed to avoid this.
    – Roberto
    Commented Jun 23, 2015 at 20:38