Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?


Note: This is definitely not the same issue as Turning active hyperlinks back to blueTurning active hyperlinks back to blue, because in that question, the (unmodified) Hyperlink style was removed from the linked text and just needed to be reapplied. In my situation, the definition of the Hyperlink style has been changed - I can apply the style all day long and never get blue text.

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?


Note: This is definitely not the same issue as Turning active hyperlinks back to blue, because in that question, the (unmodified) Hyperlink style was removed from the linked text and just needed to be reapplied. In my situation, the definition of the Hyperlink style has been changed - I can apply the style all day long and never get blue text.

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?


Note: This is definitely not the same issue as Turning active hyperlinks back to blue, because in that question, the (unmodified) Hyperlink style was removed from the linked text and just needed to be reapplied. In my situation, the definition of the Hyperlink style has been changed - I can apply the style all day long and never get blue text.

this is not, by any means, a duplicate.
Source Link
Dan Henderson
  • 1.4k
  • 2
  • 12
  • 25

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?


Note: This is definitely not the same issue as Turning active hyperlinks back to blue, because in that question, the (unmodified) Hyperlink style was removed from the linked text and just needed to be reapplied. In my situation, the definition of the Hyperlink style has been changed - I can apply the style all day long and never get blue text.

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?


Note: This is definitely not the same issue as Turning active hyperlinks back to blue, because in that question, the (unmodified) Hyperlink style was removed from the linked text and just needed to be reapplied. In my situation, the definition of the Hyperlink style has been changed - I can apply the style all day long and never get blue text.

Source Link
Dan Henderson
  • 1.4k
  • 2
  • 12
  • 25

Restore default hyperlink color in MS Office

In the default (blank) MS Word document template, the Hyperlink style definition includes the attribute Font Color: Hyperlink. I have a particular Word document in which the Hyperlink style has been modified to include Font Color: Black, among other attributes. I want to restore the original "Hyperlink" color definition, but I cannot find a way to do so. In the Modify Style dialog, I can completely remove, for example, the explicit specification of a particular font face, changing it from Times New Roman to null, by drilling down through the Format combo-button at the bottom of the Modify Style dialog, then clearing the text from the combo-box, but I cannot do the same for font color with its color picker. Nor is there a text entry position in which I could attempt to type the word "Hyperlink" as a color name.
I could of course set it to Font Color: Blue, but that would force it to be blue for any user, even one who has set a different system color for hyperlinks on their machine (as does the current setting of Black). With the default setting (if I'm understanding correctly), the Hyperlink style, with its Font Color: Hyperlink parameter, will make hyperlinks display using the system-defined color - so if Bob has configured his computer to display links in hot pink, and Mary prefers burnt orange, they'll each see hyperlinks in that color when they open the document, while I see good ol' blue. This is what I would like to have happen.

Of course, I know I could just copy all of the text out of the document and paste it into a brand new document with all of the default styling, but is there any way to modify the style definition embedded into this existing document, so I can preserve all of the other elements defined for the style, and only revert the color?