Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

While asking this question about a home NASthis question about a home NAS, Matt Rogish questioned my backup strategyquestioned my backup strategy for all this encoded video, and I had no answer. It seems that burning DVDs would be very time consuming. Also, do burned DVDs still suffer from degradation after n-years (where n is some number in the future)?

For those that don't want to read the other question, I currently have just under 1 TB of data and have estimated that I'll finish in the 1.5 to 2 Tb range, but may need more in the future. The data is primarily h.264 encoded video hand ripped from my DVD collection.

While asking this question about a home NAS, Matt Rogish questioned my backup strategy for all this encoded video, and I had no answer. It seems that burning DVDs would be very time consuming. Also, do burned DVDs still suffer from degradation after n-years (where n is some number in the future)?

For those that don't want to read the other question, I currently have just under 1 TB of data and have estimated that I'll finish in the 1.5 to 2 Tb range, but may need more in the future. The data is primarily h.264 encoded video hand ripped from my DVD collection.

While asking this question about a home NAS, Matt Rogish questioned my backup strategy for all this encoded video, and I had no answer. It seems that burning DVDs would be very time consuming. Also, do burned DVDs still suffer from degradation after n-years (where n is some number in the future)?

For those that don't want to read the other question, I currently have just under 1 TB of data and have estimated that I'll finish in the 1.5 to 2 Tb range, but may need more in the future. The data is primarily h.264 encoded video hand ripped from my DVD collection.

Post Closed as "Needs more focus" by Journeyman Geek
Source Link
Bob King
  • 996
  • 1
  • 11
  • 20

How do you back up multiple terabytes of data?

While asking this question about a home NAS, Matt Rogish questioned my backup strategy for all this encoded video, and I had no answer. It seems that burning DVDs would be very time consuming. Also, do burned DVDs still suffer from degradation after n-years (where n is some number in the future)?

For those that don't want to read the other question, I currently have just under 1 TB of data and have estimated that I'll finish in the 1.5 to 2 Tb range, but may need more in the future. The data is primarily h.264 encoded video hand ripped from my DVD collection.