Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Post Closed as "Duplicate" by bwDraco, Giacomo1968, fixer1234, mdpc, Dave
added 145 characters in body
Source Link
yanpas
  • 562
  • 5
  • 15

Sometimes I face the problems with my video card, so the system freezes. Reset button is broken, so the only way is to hold down power button for 5 secs. AndGuess that this action differs from power loss, cause motherboard controls process of poweroff, it may send some signals to hw, before shut down.

I am worried about my hard disk drives. Will the hard disk drives heads be safely parked or I will get +1 bad event to SMART? Or it motherboard-dependent?

Sometimes I face the problems with my video card, so the system freezes. Reset button is broken, so the only way is to hold down power button for 5 secs. And I am worried about my hard disk drives. Will the hard disk drives heads be safely parked or I will get +1 bad event to SMART? Or it motherboard-dependent?

Sometimes I face the problems with my video card, so the system freezes. Reset button is broken, so the only way is to hold down power button for 5 secs. Guess that this action differs from power loss, cause motherboard controls process of poweroff, it may send some signals to hw, before shut down.

I am worried about my hard disk drives. Will the hard disk drives heads be safely parked or I will get +1 bad event to SMART? Or it motherboard-dependent?

edited title; edited tags
Link
bwDraco
  • 46.2k
  • 43
  • 167
  • 209

Will my hard drives be harmed if I will be holdinghold down the power button for 5 secsseconds?

added 24 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Sometimes I face the problems with my video card, so the system freezes. Reset button is broken, so the only way is to hold down power button for 5 secs. And I am worried about my HDDshard disk drives. Will the hddshard disk drives heads be safely parked or I will get +1 bad event to SMART? Or it motherboard-dependingdependent?

Sometimes I face the problems with my video card, so the system freezes. Reset button is broken, so the only way is to hold down power button for 5 secs. And I am worried about my HDDs. Will the hdds heads be safely parked or I will get +1 bad event to SMART? Or it motherboard-depending?

Sometimes I face the problems with my video card, so the system freezes. Reset button is broken, so the only way is to hold down power button for 5 secs. And I am worried about my hard disk drives. Will the hard disk drives heads be safely parked or I will get +1 bad event to SMART? Or it motherboard-dependent?

Source Link
yanpas
  • 562
  • 5
  • 15
Loading