Skip to main content
deleted 151 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
slhck
  • 230.2k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603

Home Network won't bend to my will Devices cannot see each others' network shares

This has me stumped and I am embarrassed by it. But find an answer I must and that is why I am asking this. [endrant]
I have triedtrying to form a home network.
I I have: dsl, two wifi access points and 5 main devices.
My

  • DSL
  • Two Wi-Fi access points
  • 5 main devices

My wife uses an XP in the home office where the dslDSL router is connected to the first AP. I have an iMac and there is a printer. All 3 connect wirelessly.
A

A cable runs from the router to the second AP where the kids have a windowsWindows 7 device. We can all print to the printer. Everybody is on the same 192.168. network and can use the internet. The dslDSL router uses the pace.com domain and all the users have the same workgroup name.
But

But file sharing and seeing each other as members of a network has proved confusing. And I cannot see the forest for the trees.
Everybody

Everybody seems to ping everybody else OK  (except no one can ping the winWin 7 box which can ping the others). DNS on the LAN works correctly. Nobody sees any shares except their own.
I do not know where to

Where should I go next so the answer must be obvious.
THANX, eddackertroubleshooting?

Home Network won't bend to my will

This has me stumped and I am embarrassed by it. But find an answer I must and that is why I am asking this. [endrant]
I have tried to form a home network.
I have: dsl, two wifi access points and 5 main devices.
My wife uses an XP in the home office where the dsl router is connected to the first AP. I have an iMac and there is a printer. All 3 connect wirelessly.
A cable runs from the router to the second AP where the kids have a windows 7 device. We can all print to the printer. Everybody is on the same 192.168. network and can use the internet. The dsl router uses the pace.com domain and all the users have the same workgroup name.
But file sharing and seeing each other as members of a network has proved confusing. And I cannot see the forest for the trees.
Everybody seems to ping everybody else OK(except no one can ping the win 7 box which can ping the others). DNS on the LAN works correctly. Nobody sees any shares except their own.
I do not know where to go next so the answer must be obvious.
THANX, eddacker

Devices cannot see each others' network shares

I am trying to form a home network. I have:

  • DSL
  • Two Wi-Fi access points
  • 5 main devices

My wife uses an XP in the home office where the DSL router is connected to the first AP. I have an iMac and there is a printer. All 3 connect wirelessly.

A cable runs from the router to the second AP where the kids have a Windows 7 device. We can all print to the printer. Everybody is on the same 192.168. network and can use the internet. The DSL router uses the pace.com domain and all the users have the same workgroup name.

But file sharing and seeing each other as members of a network has proved confusing. And I cannot see the forest for the trees.

Everybody seems to ping everybody else OK  (except no one can ping the Win 7 box which can ping the others). DNS on the LAN works correctly. Nobody sees any shares except their own.

Where should I go next troubleshooting?

Source Link

Home Network won't bend to my will

This has me stumped and I am embarrassed by it. But find an answer I must and that is why I am asking this. [endrant]
I have tried to form a home network.
I have: dsl, two wifi access points and 5 main devices.
My wife uses an XP in the home office where the dsl router is connected to the first AP. I have an iMac and there is a printer. All 3 connect wirelessly.
A cable runs from the router to the second AP where the kids have a windows 7 device. We can all print to the printer. Everybody is on the same 192.168. network and can use the internet. The dsl router uses the pace.com domain and all the users have the same workgroup name.
But file sharing and seeing each other as members of a network has proved confusing. And I cannot see the forest for the trees.
Everybody seems to ping everybody else OK(except no one can ping the win 7 box which can ping the others). DNS on the LAN works correctly. Nobody sees any shares except their own.
I do not know where to go next so the answer must be obvious.
THANX, eddacker