Skip to main content
added 26 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Iomega Prestige 1tb1TB portable USB 2.0 hard drive keeps getting randomly disconnected in Windows 8

I have an Iomega Prestige 1tb usb1TB USB 2.0 portable hard drive with its own external power source that worked fine for several years on my old 2003 Dell desktop running Windows xpXP. I

I bought a new Dell Windows 8 desktop about 4 months ago and plugged the portable hard drive into a usbUSB port on the back of the computer. SinceSince then the portable hdhard drive keeps disconnecting randomly, sometimes disconnecting. Sometimes when it'sit’s writing a file, but more often when it'sit’s on butand connected, but not in use. I hear the Windows notification sound and the drive has disappeared from My“My Computer, but the light on the hd is still on.

I have looked at a number of posts on various different sites about what appear to be similar issues with portable hard drives, but none of the answers I'veI’ve seen have helped. II checked all the drivers and they were all up to date. OneOne post suggested disabling auto power off for the USB ports. II tried that and it didn'tdidn’t seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions?

Iomega Prestige 1tb portable hard drive keeps getting disconnected

I have an Iomega Prestige 1tb usb 2 portable hard drive with its own external power source that worked fine for several years on my old 2003 Dell desktop running Windows xp. I bought a new Dell Windows 8 desktop about 4 months ago and plugged the portable hard drive into a usb port on the back of the computer. Since then the portable hd keeps disconnecting randomly, sometimes when it's writing a file, but more often when it's on but not in use. I hear the Windows notification sound and the drive has disappeared from My Computer, but the light on the hd is still on.

I have looked at a number of posts on various different sites about what appear to be similar issues with portable hard drives, but none of the answers I've seen have helped. I checked all the drivers and they were all up to date. One post suggested disabling auto power off for the USB ports. I tried that and it didn't seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions?

Iomega Prestige 1TB portable USB 2.0 hard drive keeps getting randomly disconnected in Windows 8

I have an Iomega Prestige 1TB USB 2.0 portable hard drive with its own external power source that worked fine for several years on my old 2003 Dell desktop running Windows XP.

I bought a new Dell Windows 8 desktop about 4 months ago and plugged the portable hard drive into a USB port on the back of the computer. Since then the portable hard drive keeps randomly disconnecting. Sometimes when it’s writing a file, but more often when it’s on and connected, but not in use. I hear the Windows notification sound and the drive has disappeared from “My Computer, but the light on the hd is still on.

I have looked at a number of posts on various different sites about what appear to be similar issues with portable hard drives, but none of the answers I’ve seen have helped. I checked all the drivers and they were all up to date. One post suggested disabling auto power off for the USB ports. I tried that and it didn’t seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions?

Source Link

Iomega Prestige 1tb portable hard drive keeps getting disconnected

I have an Iomega Prestige 1tb usb 2 portable hard drive with its own external power source that worked fine for several years on my old 2003 Dell desktop running Windows xp. I bought a new Dell Windows 8 desktop about 4 months ago and plugged the portable hard drive into a usb port on the back of the computer. Since then the portable hd keeps disconnecting randomly, sometimes when it's writing a file, but more often when it's on but not in use. I hear the Windows notification sound and the drive has disappeared from My Computer, but the light on the hd is still on.

I have looked at a number of posts on various different sites about what appear to be similar issues with portable hard drives, but none of the answers I've seen have helped. I checked all the drivers and they were all up to date. One post suggested disabling auto power off for the USB ports. I tried that and it didn't seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions?