Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 7, 2015 at 11:19 comment added ali_m As far as I can tell, the HDDs and ODDs use entirely separate SATA controllers (the connectors are labelled specifically on the mobo). The BIOS only offers me the option to enable/disable specific drives (all HDDs/ODDs are enabled at the moment). Another minor detail: I misremembered about the Intel RAID menu - it no longer appears at boot-time when the SATA mode is set to AHCI in the BIOS, which is what I'd expect.
Apr 7, 2015 at 0:30 comment added Louis Waweru @ali_m I see. Is there an option to set them as HDD vs ODD? This manual seems to indicate such behavior (page 40).
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:48 comment added ali_m No. The BIOS SATA mode was originally set to RAID, but as I said, I changed it to AHCI. There is also an Intel RST RAID configuration menu that appears at boot-time, but again, all of my drives are configured as non-RAID devices.
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:39 comment added Louis Waweru @ali_m Sorry if you wasted money/time. Are you sure you're not using a RAID setup? This would cause them to be visible in pre-boot but not in Windows.
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:15 comment added ali_m It might potentially be some weird motherboard/BIOS issue. I've set the SATA mode to AHCI, and naively assumed that anything supporting AHCI would probably also support SATA hotswapping. Now I'm not so sure. Dell don't seem to provide any information about this (I've asked on their Community forums as well, but no responses so far). I also can't rule out whether the problem is OS-related.
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:12 comment added ali_m Yes. Unfortunately the cables were not long enough to be able to share power between one 3.5" and one 2.5" drive, so I'm currently running both 3.5" drives from a single y-cable, and both 2.5" drives from the other. It's not an ideal state of affairs, but based on my calculations the single power cable should be able to provide just enough current to run both of them (I've also run some SMART tests on the 3.5" drives, and I'm not seeing any errors).
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:04 comment added Louis Waweru @ali_m Hmm, are you only slitting the power?
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:03 comment added ali_m Thanks Louis, the y-adaptors are, at the very least, a partial solution for my problem. With the y-adaptors I am currently able to read/write to HDDs in both of the hot-swap bays provided that the disks were present at boot-time, and I am also able to unmount and remove them using this tool. However, I have not been able to get the OS to detect a new disk if when it is inserted after booting. I suspect this may be a Windows issue rather than a hardware issue, so I'm marking your answer as accepted.
Apr 6, 2015 at 22:56 vote accept ali_m
Apr 6, 2015 at 22:56 vote accept ali_m
Apr 6, 2015 at 22:56
Mar 29, 2015 at 17:47 history edited Louis Waweru CC BY-SA 3.0
added 90 characters in body
Mar 29, 2015 at 17:38 history answered Louis Waweru CC BY-SA 3.0