Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
added details
Source Link
user3596479
  • 101
  • 2
  • 2
  • 11

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing multicast UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?

//
Ok, so I was asked to add additional details about my router. It's Thomson's 789vn with software version of 8.C.D.5. For a temporary solution, I am just restreaming the stream if someone wants to watch it through a WiFi-device (smartphone, tablet, laptop, etc). The problem is, that for this I have to have at least one computer powered on, that has a wired connection. And then on this computer which has a wired connection, I'd use the command:

vlc --intf dummy udp://@239.3.1.2:1234 :sout=#http{mux=ts,dst=:8080/} :sout-all :sout-keep

And then the WiFi-devices are able to watch the stream by opening the network stream in VLC corresponding to the IP, for example http://192.168.1.20:8080.
But what if my desktop PC is turned off and I'm so far from it to turn it on. Or if it's turned on, how I could remotely start the "sharing" of the stream?

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing multicast UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing multicast UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?

//
Ok, so I was asked to add additional details about my router. It's Thomson's 789vn with software version of 8.C.D.5. For a temporary solution, I am just restreaming the stream if someone wants to watch it through a WiFi-device (smartphone, tablet, laptop, etc). The problem is, that for this I have to have at least one computer powered on, that has a wired connection. And then on this computer which has a wired connection, I'd use the command:

vlc --intf dummy udp://@239.3.1.2:1234 :sout=#http{mux=ts,dst=:8080/} :sout-all :sout-keep

And then the WiFi-devices are able to watch the stream by opening the network stream in VLC corresponding to the IP, for example http://192.168.1.20:8080.
But what if my desktop PC is turned off and I'm so far from it to turn it on. Or if it's turned on, how I could remotely start the "sharing" of the stream?

Clarified this is about multicast, removed VLC tag because it’s not really relevant
Source Link
Daniel B
  • 64k
  • 9
  • 128
  • 176

How to make a udp livemulticast IPTV video stream accessible through WiFi, when it's only accessible through wired connection

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing multicast UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?

How to make a udp live IPTV video stream accessible through WiFi, when it's only accessible through wired connection

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?

How to make a multicast IPTV video stream accessible through WiFi, when it's only accessible through wired connection

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing multicast UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?

Source Link
user3596479
  • 101
  • 2
  • 2
  • 11

How to make a udp live IPTV video stream accessible through WiFi, when it's only accessible through wired connection

So thanks to my service provider I'm able to watch some TV channels through the computer, using software (VLC, ffplay, MPlayer, etc) that is capable of playing UDP streams. My problem is that the playback of these channels is only possible via wired connection. I was wondering what might be my options to make these channels also accessible through WiFi?

I guess one way is to restream it, so that if someone wants to watch the channel, I'd have to turn on the desktop computer and start restreaming it to the network. But I don't see it as a very good option. Are there any other options?