Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007, DavidPostill, mdpc, Kevin Panko, Nifle
adjusted wording to avoid software-rec close votes
Source Link
Excellll
  • 12.7k
  • 11
  • 53
  • 78

Bandwidth monitoring - looking for a vnstat with more information How to monitor bandwidth usage per process

I recently installed vnstat on my DigitalOcean Droplet (Ubuntu). After about a month I decided to check out the log and to my surprise saw "huge" amounts of bandwidth going in and out of the server. Pretty much 50-100MB a day! Which is a lot for this Droplet as it hosts just a single static page with no images through nginx.

I was wondering if someone knows a tool IHow can run for a day (much like vnstat), but which logsI log bandwidth usage per process, so I can find what is causing it.this? I checked my nginx logs and it has barely any sent bytes, so it has to be something else...

I ran across nethogs and the like, but the problem with those tools is, unlike vnstat, they only gather live-data. Whereas I'm looking for a toolIdeally I'd like something that works like vnstat (updating tats every 5 minutes), but also tells me which process/port/etc. is causing it.

Bandwidth monitoring - looking for a vnstat with more information

I recently installed vnstat on my DigitalOcean Droplet (Ubuntu). After about a month I decided to check out the log and to my surprise saw "huge" amounts of bandwidth going in and out of the server. Pretty much 50-100MB a day! Which is a lot for this Droplet as it hosts just a single static page with no images through nginx.

I was wondering if someone knows a tool I can run for a day (much like vnstat), but which logs usage per process, so I can find what is causing it. I checked my nginx logs and it has barely any sent bytes, so it has to be something else...

I ran across nethogs and the like, but the problem with those tools is, unlike vnstat, they only gather live-data. Whereas I'm looking for a tool that works like vnstat (updating tats every 5 minutes), but also tells me which process/port/etc. is causing it.

How to monitor bandwidth usage per process

I recently installed vnstat on my DigitalOcean Droplet (Ubuntu). After about a month I decided to check out the log and to my surprise saw "huge" amounts of bandwidth going in and out of the server. Pretty much 50-100MB a day! Which is a lot for this Droplet as it hosts just a single static page with no images through nginx.

How can I log bandwidth usage per process, so I can find what is causing this? I checked my nginx logs and it has barely any sent bytes, so it has to be something else...

I ran across nethogs and the like, but the problem with those tools is, unlike vnstat, they only gather live-data. Ideally I'd like something that works like vnstat (updating tats every 5 minutes), but also tells me which process/port/etc. is causing it.

Added linux tag.
Link
boot13
  • 5.9k
  • 3
  • 29
  • 42
Source Link

Bandwidth monitoring - looking for a vnstat with more information

I recently installed vnstat on my DigitalOcean Droplet (Ubuntu). After about a month I decided to check out the log and to my surprise saw "huge" amounts of bandwidth going in and out of the server. Pretty much 50-100MB a day! Which is a lot for this Droplet as it hosts just a single static page with no images through nginx.

I was wondering if someone knows a tool I can run for a day (much like vnstat), but which logs usage per process, so I can find what is causing it. I checked my nginx logs and it has barely any sent bytes, so it has to be something else...

I ran across nethogs and the like, but the problem with those tools is, unlike vnstat, they only gather live-data. Whereas I'm looking for a tool that works like vnstat (updating tats every 5 minutes), but also tells me which process/port/etc. is causing it.