Skip to main content
restored images to their full size, preserved images
Source Link
Gareth
  • 18.9k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 69

Everytime I shutdown my Windows XP, it comes up with the following screen which says

"Turn Off with Installing Updates"

Turn Off with Installing Updates

(Of course, it also gives me an option as follows, "Click here to turn off without installing updates.")

Now, whenWhen I do a normal shutdown asking it to Install"Install Updates and Turn it Off. It does notOff", it doesn't actually install the updates and every. Each subsequent time I try to shut down the PC, it still comes with the promptprompts me to "Turn Off with Installing Updates".

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/7919/windowsshutdownscreen.th.gifenter image description here

I managed to find out that thisthe install was this:

"Installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition Service Pack 3 (KB955706) update 1 of 1 .... "

Installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition Service Pack 3 (KB955706) update 1 of 1 ....

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/2733/whatistheupdate.th.gifenter image description here

Now, whenWhen I click on the Installing Updates icon (the yellow icon, that appears on the task bar near the clock), and Installinstall it. It, it tries to install and itbut fails.:

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/1474/windowsupdatefailed.th.gifenter image description here

Now, whyWhy is this install alone failing?

SecondSecondly, if we areit's not ablepossible to ascertain why thisthe installation is failing, can weI at least ensure that it isit's removed from the list of possible installs so that everytimeeach time it does not ask me to install it.?

Everytime I shutdown my Windows XP, it comes up with the following screen which says

"Turn Off with Installing Updates"

(Of course, it also gives me an option as follows, "Click here to turn off without installing updates.")

Now, when I do normal shutdown asking it to Install Updates and Turn it Off. It does not install the updates and every subsequent time I try to shut down the PC, it still comes with the prompt "Turn Off with Installing Updates".

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/7919/windowsshutdownscreen.th.gif

I managed to find out that this install was this

"Installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition Service Pack 3 (KB955706) update 1 of 1 .... "

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/2733/whatistheupdate.th.gif

Now, when I click on the Installing Updates icon (the yellow icon, that appears on the task bar near the clock), and Install it. It tries to install and it fails.

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/1474/windowsupdatefailed.th.gif

Now, why is this install alone failing?

Second, if we are not able to ascertain why this is failing, can we at least ensure that it is removed from the list of possible installs so that everytime it does not ask me to install it.

Everytime I shutdown my Windows XP, it comes up with the following screen which says

Turn Off with Installing Updates

(Of course, it also gives me an option as follows, "Click here to turn off without installing updates.")

When I do a normal shutdown asking it to "Install Updates and Turn It Off", it doesn't actually install the updates. Each subsequent time I try to shut down the PC, it still prompts me to "Turn Off with Installing Updates".

enter image description here

I managed to find out that the install was this:

Installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition Service Pack 3 (KB955706) update 1 of 1 ....

enter image description here

When I click on the Installing Updates icon (the yellow icon, that appears on the task bar near the clock), and install it, it tries to install but fails:

enter image description here

Why is this install alone failing?

Secondly, if it's not possible to ascertain why the installation is failing, can I at least ensure that it's removed from the list of possible installs so that each time it does not ask me to install it?

Source Link
Kanini
  • 1.1k
  • 3
  • 26
  • 45

Windows Updates - Does Not Install, how can I remove it

Everytime I shutdown my Windows XP, it comes up with the following screen which says

"Turn Off with Installing Updates"

(Of course, it also gives me an option as follows, "Click here to turn off without installing updates.")

Now, when I do normal shutdown asking it to Install Updates and Turn it Off. It does not install the updates and every subsequent time I try to shut down the PC, it still comes with the prompt "Turn Off with Installing Updates".

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/7919/windowsshutdownscreen.th.gif

I managed to find out that this install was this

"Installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition Service Pack 3 (KB955706) update 1 of 1 .... "

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/2733/whatistheupdate.th.gif

Now, when I click on the Installing Updates icon (the yellow icon, that appears on the task bar near the clock), and Install it. It tries to install and it fails.

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/1474/windowsupdatefailed.th.gif

Now, why is this install alone failing?

Second, if we are not able to ascertain why this is failing, can we at least ensure that it is removed from the list of possible installs so that everytime it does not ask me to install it.