Skip to main content
corrected spellings
Source Link
user326006
user326006

VM VMware workstation 1011 host-only networking with Kali Linux VM(Guest) and Windows 8.1 host(Host)

I've been trying to set-up a host-only network between my Virtual machine Linux (Guest) and Windows 8.1 pro as host(Host) to share internetInternet connection from myof Linux VM with Windows 8.1 host. the Linux distribution i'm working with is Kali-LinuxKali-Linux. internet connection is in VM and i want to bring toit to host computer and from there share it between other computers using ICS.

i followed the instructions in here and here and found some docs but they were for older versions of Vmware workstation.

First, i tried to disable any ICS that was already running in my host Windows and then in VMware workstation settings, network adapters settings, set the network to host-only and i know that it will enable host-only network on VMnet 1 Virtual(Virtual network adapter). so i successfully connected to internet in my Linux VM but there was no internet connection coming to my Windows host through VMnet 1.

Second, i tried to set the custom optionoptions in VM settings and manually set the adapter to be VMnet 1 but still no luck.

i think there are some interference with IP addressaddresses of my Windows withand VMnet 1 virtual adapter.

my computer'sWindows (Host) IP address is 192.168.1.5 and the VMnet 1's IP address is 192.168.68209.1 and it's DHCP server is 192.168.68.254. i changed

i tried to change them using Virtual network editor inof VMware worksation andto set the IP address onof the host-only VMnet 1 to 192.168.1.10 and it's subnet ip to 192.168.1.0 but when i go to details of VMnet 1 in Windows, it still has the old configuration.

do i need to configure my Linux VM too or am i doing things wrong? thanks in advance.

VM workstation 10 host-only networking with Linux VM and Windows 8.1 host

I've been trying to set-up a host-only network between my Virtual machine Linux and Windows 8.1 pro as host to share internet connection from my Linux VM with Windows 8.1. the Linux distribution i'm working with is Kali-Linux. internet connection is in VM and i want to bring to to host computer and from there share it between other computers using ICS.

i followed the instructions in here and here and found some docs but they were for older versions of Vmware workstation.

First, i tried to disable any ICS that was already running in my host Windows and then in VMware workstation settings, network adapters settings, set the network to host-only and i know that it will enable host-only network on VMnet 1 Virtual network adapter. i connected to internet in my VM but there was no internet connection coming to my Windows host through VMnet 1.

Second, i tried to set the custom option in VM settings and manually set the adapter to be VMnet 1 but still no luck.

i think there are some interference with IP address of my Windows with VMnet 1 virtual adapter.

my computer's IP address is 192.168.1.5 and the VMnet 1's IP address is 192.168.68 and it's DHCP server is 192.168.68.254. i changed them using Virtual network editor in VMware worksation and set the IP address on the host-only VMnet 1 to 192.168.1.10 and it's subnet ip to 192.168.1.0 but when i go to details of VMnet 1 in Windows, it still has the old configuration.

do i need to configure my Linux VM too or am i doing things wrong? thanks in advance.

VMware workstation 11 host-only networking with Kali Linux (Guest) and Windows 8.1 (Host)

I've been trying to set-up a host-only network between my Virtual machine Linux (Guest) and Windows 8.1 (Host) to share Internet connection of Linux VM with Windows 8.1 host. the Linux distribution i'm working with is Kali-Linux. internet connection is in VM and i want to bring it to host computer and from there share it between other computers using ICS.

i followed the instructions in here and here and found some docs but they were for older versions of Vmware workstation.

First, i tried to disable any ICS that was already running in my host Windows and then in VMware workstation settings, network adapters settings, set the network to host-only and i know that it will enable host-only network on VMnet 1 (Virtual network adapter). so i successfully connected to internet in my Linux VM but there was no internet connection coming to my Windows host through VMnet 1.

Second, i tried to set the custom options in VM settings and manually set the adapter to be VMnet 1 but still no luck.

i think there are some interference with IP addresses of my Windows and VMnet 1.

Windows (Host) IP address is 192.168.1.5 and the VMnet 1's IP address is 192.168.209.1 and it's DHCP server is 192.168.68.254.

i tried to change them using Virtual network editor of VMware worksation to set the IP address of the host-only VMnet 1 to 192.168.1.10 and it's subnet ip to 192.168.1.0 but when i go to details of VMnet 1 in Windows, it still has the old configuration.

do i need to configure my Linux VM too or am i doing things wrong? thanks in advance.

edited tags
Link
user326006
user326006
added 132 characters in body
Source Link
user326006
user326006

I've been trying to set-up a host-only network between my Virtual machine Linux and Windows 8.1 pro as host to share internet connection from my Linux VM with Windows 8.1. the Linux distribution i'm working with is Kali-Linux. internet connection is in VM and i want to bring to to host computer and from there share it between other computers using ICS.

i followed the instructions in here and here and found some docs but they were for older versions of Vmware workstation.

First, i tried to disable any ICS that was already running in my host Windows and then in VMware workstation settings, network adapters settings, set the network to host-only and i know that it will enable host-only network on VMnet 1 Virtual network adapter. i connected to internet in my VM but there was no internet connection coming to my Windows host through VMnet 1.

Second, i tried to set the custom option in VM settings and manually set the adapter to be VMnet 1 but still no luck.

i think there are some interference with IP address of my Windows with VMnet 1 virtual adapter.

my computer's IP address is 192.168.1.5 and the VMnet 1's IP address is 192.168.68 and it's DHCP server is 192.168.68.254. i changed them using Virtual network editor in VMware worksation and set the IP address on the host-only VMnet 1 to 192.168.1.10 and it's subnet ip to 192.168.1.0 but when i go to details of VMnet 1 in Windows, it still has the old configuration.

do i need to configure my Linux VM too or am i doing things wrong? thanks in advance.

I've been trying to set-up a host-only network between my Virtual machine Linux and Windows 8.1 pro as host to share internet connection from my Linux VM with Windows 8.1. the Linux distribution i'm working with is Kali-Linux. i followed the instructions in here and here and found some docs but they were for older versions of Vmware workstation.

First, i tried to disable any ICS that was already running in my host Windows and then in VMware workstation settings, network adapters settings, set the network to host-only and i know that it will enable host-only network on VMnet 1 Virtual network adapter. i connected to internet in my VM but there was no internet connection coming to my Windows host through VMnet 1.

Second, i tried to set the custom option in VM settings and manually set the adapter to be VMnet 1 but still no luck.

i think there are some interference with IP address of my Windows with VMnet 1 virtual adapter.

my computer's IP address is 192.168.1.5 and the VMnet 1's IP address is 192.168.68 and it's DHCP server is 192.168.68.254. i changed them using Virtual network editor in VMware worksation and set the IP address on the host-only VMnet 1 to 192.168.1.10 and it's subnet ip to 192.168.1.0 but when i go to details of VMnet 1 in Windows, it still has the old configuration.

do i need to configure my Linux VM too or am i doing things wrong? thanks in advance.

I've been trying to set-up a host-only network between my Virtual machine Linux and Windows 8.1 pro as host to share internet connection from my Linux VM with Windows 8.1. the Linux distribution i'm working with is Kali-Linux. internet connection is in VM and i want to bring to to host computer and from there share it between other computers using ICS.

i followed the instructions in here and here and found some docs but they were for older versions of Vmware workstation.

First, i tried to disable any ICS that was already running in my host Windows and then in VMware workstation settings, network adapters settings, set the network to host-only and i know that it will enable host-only network on VMnet 1 Virtual network adapter. i connected to internet in my VM but there was no internet connection coming to my Windows host through VMnet 1.

Second, i tried to set the custom option in VM settings and manually set the adapter to be VMnet 1 but still no luck.

i think there are some interference with IP address of my Windows with VMnet 1 virtual adapter.

my computer's IP address is 192.168.1.5 and the VMnet 1's IP address is 192.168.68 and it's DHCP server is 192.168.68.254. i changed them using Virtual network editor in VMware worksation and set the IP address on the host-only VMnet 1 to 192.168.1.10 and it's subnet ip to 192.168.1.0 but when i go to details of VMnet 1 in Windows, it still has the old configuration.

do i need to configure my Linux VM too or am i doing things wrong? thanks in advance.

added 7 characters in body
Source Link
user326006
user326006
Loading
Source Link
user326006
user326006
Loading