Skip to main content
fixed tags as question is not OS specific
Source Link
I say Reinstate Monica
  • 26.2k
  • 21
  • 98
  • 135

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify system environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment variable with the same name as a system environment variable, the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echo command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable.

I just wanted to confirm this is expected behavior and understand the reasoning behind it. I would expect the more specific user setting to override the system one.

I have Windows 7.

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify system environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment variable with the same name as a system environment variable, the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echo command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable.

I just wanted to confirm this is expected behavior and understand the reasoning behind it. I would expect the more specific user setting to override the system one.

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify system environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment variable with the same name as a system environment variable, the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echo command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable.

I just wanted to confirm this is expected behavior and understand the reasoning behind it. I would expect the more specific user setting to override the system one.

I have Windows 7.

improved grammar, tags, title
Source Link
I say Reinstate Monica
  • 26.2k
  • 21
  • 98
  • 135

User Environment variables vs. System Environment variables. DoesVariables: Do System Variable always overrideVariables Override User variableVariables?

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify Systemsystem environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment varaibale ofvariable with the same name as a system environment variable, that the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echoecho command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable. 

I just wanted to confirm this anis expected behavior and understand the reasoning behind this, if there was a good reasonit. I would expect the more specific settingsuser setting to be in effectoverride the system one.

User Environment variables vs. System Environment variables. Does System Variable always override User variable?

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify System environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment varaibale of the same name as a system environment variable, that the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echo command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable. I just wanted to confirm this an understand the reasoning behind this, if there was a good reason. I would expect the more specific settings to be in effect.

User vs. System Environment Variables: Do System Variables Override User Variables?

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify system environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment variable with the same name as a system environment variable, the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echo command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable. 

I just wanted to confirm this is expected behavior and understand the reasoning behind it. I would expect the more specific user setting to override the system one.

Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
Ivan
  • 2.3k
  • 10
  • 30
  • 42

User Environment variables vs. System Environment variables. Does System Variable always override User variable?

I have elevated rights to my laptop but not admin rights. Admin rights are required to modify System environment variables. I expected that if I created a user environment varaibale of the same name as a system environment variable, that the user variable would override the system variable but this does not appear to be the case.

After adding a user variable of the same name as a system variable, I opened up a brand new cmd window and used the echo command to display the variable. It showed me the value of the system variable instead of the value of the user variable. I just wanted to confirm this an understand the reasoning behind this, if there was a good reason. I would expect the more specific settings to be in effect.