Skip to main content
added 88 characters in body
Source Link
Blaine
  • 1.7k
  • 5
  • 31
  • 52

So I set up a desktop computer running ubuntu in a classroom that was running through an AVR at 220 volts. I got a report that it wasn't working, so I came to look at it, and sure enough, fans and lights would go on, but the screen would remain blank.

Then I realized somebody had plugged it into 110 volts. I plugged it back into 220, and ta-da! it boots. However, everything you do is extremely sluggish, be it opening an app, a folder, animations that should play when moused over, etc. I ran an hdd test, but the results came up fine. The PSU is also outputting the right voltage on all lines as tested by volt meter. What is the problem?

I remember having this happen with one other computer, but i quickly realized my mistake, and after plugging it back into 220 it worked fine. It could be that this one was a longer duration of incorrect voltage.

So anyway, any help to identifying the problem would be greatly appreciated.

edit: example of slowness: it takes 8 seconds to open a folder containing 1 item
-it takes about 10 seconds to open the shut down dialogue box, and about 1 more minute for pressing "shut down" to actually get rid of the box

So I set up a desktop computer running ubuntu in a classroom that was running through an AVR at 220 volts. I got a report that it wasn't working, so I came to look at it, and sure enough, fans and lights would go on, but the screen would remain blank.

Then I realized somebody had plugged it into 110 volts. I plugged it back into 220, and ta-da! it boots. However, everything you do is extremely sluggish, be it opening an app, a folder, animations that should play when moused over, etc. I ran an hdd test, but the results came up fine. The PSU is also outputting the right voltage on all lines as tested by volt meter. What is the problem?

I remember having this happen with one other computer, but i quickly realized my mistake, and after plugging it back into 220 it worked fine. It could be that this one was a longer duration of incorrect voltage.

So anyway, any help to identifying the problem would be greatly appreciated.

So I set up a desktop computer running ubuntu in a classroom that was running through an AVR at 220 volts. I got a report that it wasn't working, so I came to look at it, and sure enough, fans and lights would go on, but the screen would remain blank.

Then I realized somebody had plugged it into 110 volts. I plugged it back into 220, and ta-da! it boots. However, everything you do is extremely sluggish, be it opening an app, a folder, animations that should play when moused over, etc. I ran an hdd test, but the results came up fine. The PSU is also outputting the right voltage on all lines as tested by volt meter. What is the problem?

I remember having this happen with one other computer, but i quickly realized my mistake, and after plugging it back into 220 it worked fine. It could be that this one was a longer duration of incorrect voltage.

So anyway, any help to identifying the problem would be greatly appreciated.

edit: example of slowness: it takes 8 seconds to open a folder containing 1 item
-it takes about 10 seconds to open the shut down dialogue box, and about 1 more minute for pressing "shut down" to actually get rid of the box

Source Link
Blaine
  • 1.7k
  • 5
  • 31
  • 52

Computer slow after plugged into wrong voltage

So I set up a desktop computer running ubuntu in a classroom that was running through an AVR at 220 volts. I got a report that it wasn't working, so I came to look at it, and sure enough, fans and lights would go on, but the screen would remain blank.

Then I realized somebody had plugged it into 110 volts. I plugged it back into 220, and ta-da! it boots. However, everything you do is extremely sluggish, be it opening an app, a folder, animations that should play when moused over, etc. I ran an hdd test, but the results came up fine. The PSU is also outputting the right voltage on all lines as tested by volt meter. What is the problem?

I remember having this happen with one other computer, but i quickly realized my mistake, and after plugging it back into 220 it worked fine. It could be that this one was a longer duration of incorrect voltage.

So anyway, any help to identifying the problem would be greatly appreciated.