Skip to main content
deleted 63 characters in body
Source Link

I have mounted an xp ntfs share drive on my raspberri pi with the command sudo mount -t cifs -o guest //192.168.1.103/share1 /mnt/mtmy

The only way that I can edit and save files in this directory from raspberri pi is to use the sudo command. eg. sudo leafpad etc. Unless I precede with sudo I have a permissions problems and cannot save my changes.

I have tried sudo chmod 666 -r * from the mtmy location and I get "permission denied" response as it recurses. I have also tried sudo chown and got a similar response.

I can access this windows share from other windows machines with no permissions problems so I don't think the problem is related to windows sharing. However, it appears that not even using sudo can make the permissions changes in rpi to grant permission to other users.

I must be doing something fundamental wrong.

tks Don

I have mounted an xp ntfs share drive on my raspberri pi with the command sudo mount -t cifs -o guest //192.168.1.103/share1 /mnt/mtmy

The only way that I can edit and save files in this directory from raspberri pi is to use the sudo command. eg. sudo leafpad etc. Unless I precede with sudo I have a permissions problems and cannot save my changes.

I have tried sudo chmod 666 -r * from the mtmy location and I get "permission denied" response as it recurses. I have also tried sudo chown and got a similar response.

I can access this windows share from other windows machines with no permissions problems so I don't think the problem is related to windows sharing. However, it appears that not even using sudo can make the permissions changes in rpi to grant permission to other users.

I must be doing something fundamental wrong.

tks Don

I have mounted an xp ntfs share drive on my raspberri pi with the command sudo mount -t cifs -o guest //192.168.1.103/share1 /mnt/mtmy

The only way that I can edit and save files in this directory from raspberri pi is to use the sudo command. eg. sudo leafpad etc. Unless I precede with sudo I have a permissions problems and cannot save my changes.

I have tried sudo chmod 666 -r * from the mtmy location and I get "permission denied" response as it recurses. I have also tried sudo chown and got a similar response.

I can access this windows share from other windows machines with no permissions problems so I don't think the problem is related to windows sharing. However, it appears that not even using sudo can make the permissions changes in rpi to grant permission to other users.

Source Link

cannot change windows share permissions on raspberri pi

I have mounted an xp ntfs share drive on my raspberri pi with the command sudo mount -t cifs -o guest //192.168.1.103/share1 /mnt/mtmy

The only way that I can edit and save files in this directory from raspberri pi is to use the sudo command. eg. sudo leafpad etc. Unless I precede with sudo I have a permissions problems and cannot save my changes.

I have tried sudo chmod 666 -r * from the mtmy location and I get "permission denied" response as it recurses. I have also tried sudo chown and got a similar response.

I can access this windows share from other windows machines with no permissions problems so I don't think the problem is related to windows sharing. However, it appears that not even using sudo can make the permissions changes in rpi to grant permission to other users.

I must be doing something fundamental wrong.

tks Don