Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
improved grammar, removed superfluous information
Source Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123

Shortly after going into sleep mode, my Windows 7 computer wouldwould always wake up. I tried everything from checking power management settings, scheduled tasks, installed full updates (including BIOS), ran scans, reviewed logs, etc., all without success.

Then I cleaned my tower. When moving my tower slightly out, my display came back on. I realized I could wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I disassembled my tower, unplugging a few plugs and GTX card, cleaned everything with compressed air, and then hooked everything back up again with more organized wiring. I reconnected the external wiring, and now it sleeps fine.

If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the Windows logs and if your computer wakes up when you tap your tower, it might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.

Shortly after going into sleep mode my Windows 7 computer would always wake up. I tried everything from checking power management settings, scheduled tasks, installed full updates (including BIOS), ran scans, reviewed logs, etc., all without success.

Then I cleaned my tower. When moving my tower slightly out, my display came back on. I realized I could wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I disassembled my tower unplugging a few plugs and GTX card and then hooked everything back up and now it sleeps fine.

If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the Windows logs and if your computer wakes up when you tap your tower, it might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.

Shortly after going into sleep mode, my Windows 7 computer would always wake up. I tried everything from checking power management settings, scheduled tasks, installed full updates (including BIOS), ran scans, reviewed logs, etc., all without success.

Then I cleaned my tower. When moving my tower slightly out, my display came back on. I realized I could wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I disassembled my tower, unplugging a few plugs and GTX card, cleaned everything with compressed air, and then hooked everything back up again with more organized wiring. I reconnected the external wiring, and now it sleeps fine.

If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the Windows logs and if your computer wakes up when you tap your tower, it might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.

I thought i might share how i solved my wake from sleep issue.

Quick issue reminder: My Windows 7 would go into turn off display mode then shortlyShortly after going into sleep mode where it wouldmy Windows 7 computer would always wake up and end up at either desktop or login screen.

Now I have tried everything from checking power management settings, scheduled tasks, installed full updates (all inc biosincluding BIOS), ran scans, reviewed logs, cmdetc., software and hardware methodsall without success.

Then I had just about given up when i decided i might as well givecleaned my tower a cleaning.

Upon When moving my tower slightly out, i noticed my display came back on again. this is where i I realized i canI could wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I carefully disassembled my tower unplugging a few plugs and gtxGTX card to make way for 3 full compressed air can usage.

Did a full internal hardware cleaning and then hooked everything back up again with a more organized wiring.

Reconnected the external wiring and what do you know.

Nownow it sleeps just fine. If

If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the winWindows logs thenand if all else fails, try tapping your tower to see if itcomputer wakes up.

It just when you tap your tower, it might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.

I thought i might share how i solved my wake from sleep issue.

Quick issue reminder: My Windows 7 would go into turn off display mode then shortly after sleep mode where it would always wake up and end up at either desktop or login screen.

Now I have tried everything from power management settings, scheduled tasks, full updates (all inc bios), scans, logs, cmd, software and hardware methods.

I had just about given up when i decided i might as well give my tower a cleaning.

Upon moving my tower slightly out, i noticed my display came back on again. this is where i realized i can wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I carefully disassembled my tower unplugging a few plugs and gtx card to make way for 3 full compressed air can usage.

Did a full internal hardware cleaning and hooked everything up again with a more organized wiring.

Reconnected the external wiring and what do you know.

Now it sleeps just fine. If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the win logs then if all else fails, try tapping your tower to see if it wakes up.

It just might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.

Shortly after going into sleep mode my Windows 7 computer would always wake up. I tried everything from checking power management settings, scheduled tasks, installed full updates (including BIOS), ran scans, reviewed logs, etc., all without success.

Then I cleaned my tower. When moving my tower slightly out, my display came back on. I realized I could wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I disassembled my tower unplugging a few plugs and GTX card and then hooked everything back up and now it sleeps fine.

If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the Windows logs and if your computer wakes up when you tap your tower, it might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.

Source Link

I thought i might share how i solved my wake from sleep issue.

Quick issue reminder: My Windows 7 would go into turn off display mode then shortly after sleep mode where it would always wake up and end up at either desktop or login screen.

Now I have tried everything from power management settings, scheduled tasks, full updates (all inc bios), scans, logs, cmd, software and hardware methods.

I had just about given up when i decided i might as well give my tower a cleaning.

Upon moving my tower slightly out, i noticed my display came back on again. this is where i realized i can wake my PC just by tapping the tower or even the desk.

I carefully disassembled my tower unplugging a few plugs and gtx card to make way for 3 full compressed air can usage.

Did a full internal hardware cleaning and hooked everything up again with a more organized wiring.

Reconnected the external wiring and what do you know.

Now it sleeps just fine. If you receive a "wake source: unknown" in the win logs then if all else fails, try tapping your tower to see if it wakes up.

It just might be some external source that is keeping the PC awake.