Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Hennes
  • 65.3k
  • 7
  • 113
  • 168
added 1 character in body
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175

I know of several ways to obtain information about my CPU in a GNU/Linux environment, from cat /proc/cpuid to various utilities, see e.g. here

However, none of them seems to tell me what my CPU model name is. I mean, I have (for the sake of discussion) an Intel Pentium 4 530530J. But the kind of information I can get about it is basically: Manufacturer/Vendor, Family-Model-Stepping, Clock speed (well, some more fields but this should be enough to uniquely identify the brand I think).

On Windows we have free (as in beer) utilities such as HWInfo which tell us the modelbrand name (in my case - the number 530 has to appear somewhere). Isn't there something similar for Linux as well?

Notes:

  • Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...
  • HWInfo does detect the CPU as an "Intel Pentium 4 530J (Prescott, E0)". That's basically what I want to be seeing.

I know of several ways to obtain information about my CPU in a GNU/Linux environment, from cat /proc/cpuid to various utilities, see e.g. here

However, none of them seems to tell me what my CPU model name is. I mean, I have (for the sake of discussion) an Intel Pentium 4 530. But the kind of information I can get about it is basically: Manufacturer/Vendor, Family-Model-Stepping, Clock speed (well, some more fields but this should be enough to uniquely identify the brand I think).

On Windows we have free (as in beer) utilities such as HWInfo which tell us the model name (in my case - the number 530 has to appear somewhere). Isn't there something similar for Linux as well?

Notes:

  • Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...
  • HWInfo does detect the CPU as an "Intel Pentium 4 530J (Prescott, E0)". That's basically what I want to be seeing.

I know of several ways to obtain information about my CPU in a GNU/Linux environment, from cat /proc/cpuid to various utilities, see e.g. here

However, none of them seems to tell me what my CPU model name is. I mean, I have (for the sake of discussion) an Intel Pentium 4 530J. But the kind of information I can get about it is basically: Manufacturer/Vendor, Family-Model-Stepping, Clock speed (well, some more fields but this should be enough to uniquely identify the brand I think).

On Windows we have free (as in beer) utilities such as HWInfo which tell us the brand name (in my case - the number 530 has to appear somewhere). Isn't there something similar for Linux as well?

Notes:

  • Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...
  • HWInfo does detect the CPU as an "Intel Pentium 4 530J (Prescott, E0)". That's basically what I want to be seeing.
added 125 characters in body
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175

I know of several ways to obtain information about my CPU in a GNU/Linux environment, from cat /proc/cpuid to various utilities, see e.g. here

However, none of them seems to tell me what my CPU model name is. I mean, I have (for the sake of discussion) an Intel Pentium 4 530. But the kind of information I can get about it is basically: Manufacturer/Vendor, Family-Model-Stepping, Clock speed (well, some more fields but this should be enough to uniquely identify the brand I think).

On Windows we have free (as in beer) utilities such as HWInfo which tell us the model name (in my case - the number 530 has to appear somewhere). Isn't there something similar for Linux as well?

NoteNotes: Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...

  • Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...
  • HWInfo does detect the CPU as an "Intel Pentium 4 530J (Prescott, E0)". That's basically what I want to be seeing.

I know of several ways to obtain information about my CPU in a GNU/Linux environment, from cat /proc/cpuid to various utilities, see e.g. here

However, none of them seems to tell me what my CPU model name is. I mean, I have (for the sake of discussion) an Intel Pentium 4 530. But the kind of information I can get about it is basically: Manufacturer/Vendor, Family-Model-Stepping, Clock speed (well, some more fields but this should be enough to uniquely identify the brand I think).

On Windows we have free (as in beer) utilities such as HWInfo which tell us the model name (in my case - the number 530 has to appear somewhere). Isn't there something similar for Linux as well?

Note: Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...

I know of several ways to obtain information about my CPU in a GNU/Linux environment, from cat /proc/cpuid to various utilities, see e.g. here

However, none of them seems to tell me what my CPU model name is. I mean, I have (for the sake of discussion) an Intel Pentium 4 530. But the kind of information I can get about it is basically: Manufacturer/Vendor, Family-Model-Stepping, Clock speed (well, some more fields but this should be enough to uniquely identify the brand I think).

On Windows we have free (as in beer) utilities such as HWInfo which tell us the model name (in my case - the number 530 has to appear somewhere). Isn't there something similar for Linux as well?

Notes:

  • Nothing requiring a graphical environment, please. Strictly command-line...
  • HWInfo does detect the CPU as an "Intel Pentium 4 530J (Prescott, E0)". That's basically what I want to be seeing.
Updated question to state what OP actually wants
Source Link
Daniel B
  • 63.9k
  • 9
  • 128
  • 176
Loading
added 7 characters in body
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175
Loading
added 89 characters in body
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175
Loading
Source Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175
Loading