Skip to main content
added 107 characters in body
Source Link

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the hardware is all working fine, hence it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?

Edit: never mind, I was mistaken, the BIOS doesn't recognize the disk. Outdated BIOS. Topic closed.

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the hardware is all working fine, hence it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the hardware is all working fine, hence it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?

Edit: never mind, I was mistaken, the BIOS doesn't recognize the disk. Outdated BIOS. Topic closed.

Post Undeleted by user1111929
Post Deleted by user1111929
added 8 characters in body
Source Link

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the SSDhardware is all working fine, which meanshence it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the SSD is working, which means it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the hardware is all working fine, hence it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?

Source Link

SSD is recognized by linux liveUSB but not by Windows on Asus G73JW laptop

I have an Asus G73JW laptop, which has two hard drive slots. In the first slot, I have a HDD containing Windows 7. In the second slot, I just inserted an SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) with linux formatting that I took out of another computer.

Now, when looking in the partition manager of Windows, the hard drive was not recognized. And I don't just mean that no drive letter was assigned, the partition manager doesn't see the presence of a disk at all. Installing Ext2Fsd did not resolve this problem.

The BIOS sees the SSD. If I boot my computer with a linux Live USB stick (e.g. Tails), then the SSD is functioning flawlessly and I can access all my data on there. So the SSD is working, which means it must be a problem with Windows.

How can I resolve this problem, and make Windows recognize the disk?