Skip to main content
added 54 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

What are the performance differences between ssdSSD caching and native ssdSSD usage?

I am looking at making some changes to my computer. I currently have a machine running on the X79 chipset and I am using a dedicated RAID controller. The controller is an LSI 9260-8i SAS / SATALSI MegaRAID 9260-8i SAS / SATA controller. I am using it due my rotten luck with drive controllers failing. This thing is rock solid.

However due to my dislike for the X79 platform I am looking at going with a z97 platform and thought I would take a look at my storage setup and maybe consider adding an SSD to the picture. My current setup is 4 WD black 1TB drives with the LSI controller running them in a RAID 5 setup.

Originally my intent was to move to a native SSD for my OS and boot like most people. However I learned that the RAID controller I have has the ability to use an SSD as a cache for the spinning disks. They call it CacheCade.

The issue is I am trying to determine what the difference in performance would be between the SSD cache vs a native SSD.?

I am using my machine for gaming mostly. But I am also run a few virtual machines and light (very light) programminglight—very light—programming.

Cost is not really a major concern since I can spread things out I am looking mainly for the performance SNAP!boost when loading games and VMs. I imagine the native SSD does my little good for game loading performance if I was to use a separate spinning disk for my storage since the 2 never touch, right?

Any help would be appreciated.

What are the performance differences between ssd caching and native ssd usage?

I am looking at making some changes to my computer. I currently have a machine running on the X79 chipset and I am using a dedicated RAID controller. The controller is an LSI 9260-8i SAS / SATA controller. I am using it due my rotten luck with drive controllers failing. This thing is rock solid.

However due to my dislike for the X79 platform I am looking at going with a z97 platform and thought I would take a look at my storage setup and maybe consider adding an SSD to the picture. My current setup is 4 WD black 1TB drives with the LSI controller running them in a RAID 5 setup.

Originally my intent was to move to a native SSD for my OS and boot like most people. However I learned that the RAID controller I have has the ability to use an SSD as a cache for the spinning disks. They call it CacheCade.

The issue is I am trying to determine what the difference in performance would be between the SSD cache vs a native SSD.

I am using my machine for gaming mostly. But I am also run a few virtual machines and light (very light) programming.

Cost is not really a major concern since I can spread things out I am looking mainly for the performance SNAP! when loading games and VMs. I imagine the native SSD does my little good for game loading performance if I was to use a separate spinning disk for my storage since the 2 never touch, right?

Any help would be appreciated.

What are the performance differences between SSD caching and native SSD usage?

I am looking at making some changes to my computer. I currently have a machine running on the X79 chipset and I am using a dedicated RAID controller. The controller is an LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i SAS / SATA controller. I am using it due my rotten luck with drive controllers failing. This thing is rock solid.

However due to my dislike for the X79 platform I am looking at going with a z97 platform and thought I would take a look at my storage setup and maybe consider adding an SSD to the picture. My current setup is 4 WD black 1TB drives with the LSI controller running them in a RAID 5 setup.

Originally my intent was to move to a native SSD for my OS and boot like most people. However I learned that the RAID controller I have has the ability to use an SSD as a cache for the spinning disks. They call it CacheCade.

I am trying to determine what the difference in performance would be between the SSD cache vs a native SSD?

I am using my machine for gaming mostly. But I am also run a few virtual machines and light—very light—programming.

Cost is not really a major concern since I can spread things out I am looking mainly for the performance boost when loading games and VMs. I imagine the native SSD does my little good for game loading performance if I was to use a separate spinning disk for my storage since the 2 never touch, right?

Source Link
AtomicPorkchop
  • 3.3k
  • 14
  • 39
  • 59

What are the performance differences between ssd caching and native ssd usage?

I am looking at making some changes to my computer. I currently have a machine running on the X79 chipset and I am using a dedicated RAID controller. The controller is an LSI 9260-8i SAS / SATA controller. I am using it due my rotten luck with drive controllers failing. This thing is rock solid.

However due to my dislike for the X79 platform I am looking at going with a z97 platform and thought I would take a look at my storage setup and maybe consider adding an SSD to the picture. My current setup is 4 WD black 1TB drives with the LSI controller running them in a RAID 5 setup.

Originally my intent was to move to a native SSD for my OS and boot like most people. However I learned that the RAID controller I have has the ability to use an SSD as a cache for the spinning disks. They call it CacheCade.

The issue is I am trying to determine what the difference in performance would be between the SSD cache vs a native SSD.

I am using my machine for gaming mostly. But I am also run a few virtual machines and light (very light) programming.

Cost is not really a major concern since I can spread things out I am looking mainly for the performance SNAP! when loading games and VMs. I imagine the native SSD does my little good for game loading performance if I was to use a separate spinning disk for my storage since the 2 never touch, right?

Any help would be appreciated.