Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk on Oracle VirtualBox using their vboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking.  Now I have a VMware multi-volume disk (vmdk), and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to Workstation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMware free player.

(I've seen this solutionthis solution, but it uses the huge and paid Workstation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk on Oracle VirtualBox using their vboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking.  Now I have a VMware multi-volume disk (vmdk), and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to Workstation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMware free player.

(I've seen this solution, but it uses the huge and paid Workstation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk on Oracle VirtualBox using their vboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking.  Now I have a VMware multi-volume disk (vmdk), and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to Workstation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMware free player.

(I've seen this solution, but it uses the huge and paid Workstation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

Improved capitalization, punctuation, formatting, and grammar/wording.
Source Link

How can I shrink an VMWarea VMware multi volume-volume disk?

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk ofon Oracle VirtualBox disks using their vboxmanage.exevboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking. Now  Now I have an VMWarea VMware multi volume-volume disk (vmdk), and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to WorkStationWorkstation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMWareVMware free player.

(I've seen this solution, but is usingit uses the huge and paid WorkStationWorkstation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

How can I shrink an VMWare multi volume disk?

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk of Oracle VirtualBox disks using their vboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking. Now I have an VMWare multi volume disk (vmdk) and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to WorkStation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMWare free player.

(I've seen this solution but is using the huge and paid WorkStation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

How can I shrink a VMware multi-volume disk?

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk on Oracle VirtualBox using their vboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking.  Now I have a VMware multi-volume disk (vmdk), and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to Workstation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMware free player.

(I've seen this solution, but it uses the huge and paid Workstation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

Fixed spelling errors; removed unneeded backticks; removed "update" marker
Source Link

How tocan I shrink an VMWare multi volume disk?

I'm familliar about srinkingfamiliar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk of Oracle VirtualBoxVirtualBox disks using their vboxmanage.exe comandlinecommand line tool for shrinking, but now. Now I have an VMWareVMWare multi volume disk (vmdk), and I've defragmented and zeroed the freespacefree space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proccedproceed to srinkshrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

WichWhich tool I need to use?

PS: Alternative to WorkStation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMWare free player.

UPDATE

I've(I've seen this solutionthis solution but is using the huge and paid WorkStation program: VMware Workstation: how to reduce .vmdk maximum size.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

How to shrink an VMWare multi volume disk?

I'm familliar about srinking the total space of a virtual disk of Oracle VirtualBox disks using their vboxmanage.exe comandline tool for shrinking, but now I have an VMWare multi volume disk (vmdk), I've defragmented and zeroed the freespace of the OS/disk but now I don't know how to procced to srink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Wich tool I need to use?

PS: Alternative to WorkStation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMWare free player.

UPDATE

I've seen this solution but is using the huge and paid WorkStation program: VMware Workstation: how to reduce .vmdk maximum size

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

How can I shrink an VMWare multi volume disk?

I'm familiar with shrinking the total space of a virtual disk of Oracle VirtualBox disks using their vboxmanage.exe command line tool for shrinking. Now I have an VMWare multi volume disk (vmdk) and I've defragmented and zeroed the free space of the OS/disk, but now I don't know how to proceed to shrink the total virtual-disk space to its real size like in VirtualBox.

Which tool I need to use?

Alternative to WorkStation in case of that program is needed for shrinking, I'm using the VMWare free player.

(I've seen this solution but is using the huge and paid WorkStation program.)

I really don't want to depend on a program of that measures to accomplish this task.

added 244 characters in body
Source Link
ElektroStudios
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 23
  • 50
Loading
Source Link
ElektroStudios
  • 1.6k
  • 7
  • 23
  • 50
Loading