Skip to main content
Improved language in post, removed chatty/irrelevant bit from the end.
Source Link

If I have some disks in a RAID-1 configurationarray, can I just take out one of them out and plug it into a different system to be read?

I mean treating itThis means, on the target system, treating the disk from the RAID array just like an ordinary disk, regardless of any controller/driver supportregardless of any controller/driver support and without doing any rebuilding.

The idea is that if somehow my array (of 2 disks) degradedegrades, I can plug it into a different system and don't have to get another disk withof the same capacity (gettingwhich gets harder nowadays as time passes) and hopefully(hopefully) even without access to the original system. Or maybe instead of the array dying, it'sin the controller/motherboard that does.

Of course, I knowevent that if it is possible, than I may not be able to simple put them back together again as the data may be outcontroller or motherboard goes bad instead of synch, but it's a different caseone of the disks. :)

If I have some disks in a RAID-1 configuration, can I just take out one of them and plug it into a different system to be read?

I mean treating it on the target system just like an ordinary disk, regardless of any controller/driver support and without doing any rebuilding.

The idea is that if somehow my array (of 2 disks) degrade, I don't have to get another disk with the same capacity (getting harder nowadays as time passes) and hopefully even without access to the original system. Or maybe instead of the array dying, it's the controller/motherboard that does.

Of course, I know that if it is possible, than I may not be able to simple put them back together again as the data may be out of synch, but it's a different case. :)

If I have disks in a RAID-1 array, can I take one of them out and plug it into a different system to be read?

This means, on the target system, treating the disk from the RAID array just like an ordinary disk, regardless of any controller/driver support and without doing any rebuilding.

The idea is that if my array (of 2 disks) degrades, I can plug it into a different system and don't have to get another disk of the same capacity (which gets harder as time passes) and (hopefully) even without access to the original system, in the event that the controller or motherboard goes bad instead of one of the disks.

edited tags; edited title
Link
quack quixote
  • 42.9k
  • 14
  • 108
  • 130

Can a mirorredmirrored (RAID-1) disk be plugged into another system to be read?

added 5 characters in body; added 80 characters in body
Source Link
RichN
  • 477
  • 2
  • 5
  • 11

If I have some disks in a RAID-1 configuration, can I just take out one of them and plug it into a different system to be read?

I mean treating it on the target system just like an ordinary disk, regardless of any controller/driverregardless of any controller/driver support and without doing any rebuilding.

The idea is that if somehow my array (of 2 disks) degrade, I don't have to get another disk with the same capacity (getting harder nowadays as time passes) and hopefully even without access to the original system. Or maybe instead of the array dying, it's the controller/motherboard that does.

Of course, I know that if it is possible, than I may not be able to simple put them bagback together again as the data may be out of synch, but it's a different case. :)

If I have some disks in a RAID-1 configuration, can I just take out one of them and plug it into a different system to be read?

I mean treating it on the target system just like an ordinary disk, regardless of any controller/driver support and without doing any rebuilding.

The idea is that if somehow my array (of 2 disks) degrade, I don't have to get another disk with the same capacity (getting harder nowadays as time passes) and hopefully even without access to the original system.

Of course, I know that if it is possible, than I may not be able to simple put them bag together again as the data may be out of synch, but it's a different case. :)

If I have some disks in a RAID-1 configuration, can I just take out one of them and plug it into a different system to be read?

I mean treating it on the target system just like an ordinary disk, regardless of any controller/driver support and without doing any rebuilding.

The idea is that if somehow my array (of 2 disks) degrade, I don't have to get another disk with the same capacity (getting harder nowadays as time passes) and hopefully even without access to the original system. Or maybe instead of the array dying, it's the controller/motherboard that does.

Of course, I know that if it is possible, than I may not be able to simple put them back together again as the data may be out of synch, but it's a different case. :)

Source Link
RichN
  • 477
  • 2
  • 5
  • 11
Loading