Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Spelling
Source Link
music2myear
  • 43.2k
  • 50
  • 89
  • 129

I have a new LaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive. When I connect it to my Macbook pro with FriewireFirewire 800 cable (provided), the drive beeps about 20 times, then I get "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."

enter image description here

When I open Disk Utility, the drive appears there, unformatted and with no partition. Most of the tabs of Disk Utility have greyed out buttons, so there's nothing much I can do. See the screenshots below.

I have tried using 3rd party data recovery apps like Disk Warrior and DiskTools pro, and these programs don't recognize the drive so nothing to do there.

Is there any way I can force the reformatting of this drive so it will be usable? (I am comfortable on the command line.)

Since it appears in Disk Utility, doesn't that mean it's functional on some level?

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

I have a new LaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive. When I connect it to my Macbook pro with Friewire 800 cable (provided), the drive beeps about 20 times, then I get "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."

enter image description here

When I open Disk Utility, the drive appears there, unformatted and with no partition. Most of the tabs of Disk Utility have greyed out buttons, so there's nothing much I can do. See the screenshots below.

I have tried using 3rd party data recovery apps like Disk Warrior and DiskTools pro, and these programs don't recognize the drive so nothing to do there.

Is there any way I can force the reformatting of this drive so it will be usable? (I am comfortable on the command line.)

Since it appears in Disk Utility, doesn't that mean it's functional on some level?

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

I have a new LaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive. When I connect it to my Macbook pro with Firewire 800 cable (provided), the drive beeps about 20 times, then I get "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."

enter image description here

When I open Disk Utility, the drive appears there, unformatted and with no partition. Most of the tabs of Disk Utility have greyed out buttons, so there's nothing much I can do. See the screenshots below.

I have tried using 3rd party data recovery apps like Disk Warrior and DiskTools pro, and these programs don't recognize the drive so nothing to do there.

Is there any way I can force the reformatting of this drive so it will be usable? (I am comfortable on the command line.)

Since it appears in Disk Utility, doesn't that mean it's functional on some level?

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Improved Formatting
Source Link
phuclv
  • 28.4k
  • 15
  • 128
  • 252

I have a new LaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive (this oneLaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive). When I connect it to my Macbook pro with Friewire 800 cable (provided), the drive beeps about 20 times, then I get "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer.""The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."

enter image description here

When I open Disk Utility, the drive appears there, unformatted and with no partition. Most of the tabs of Disk Utility have greyed out buttons, so there's nothing much I can do. See the screenshots below.

I have tried using 3rd party data recovery apps like Disk Warrior and DiskTools pro, and these programs don't recognize the drive so nothing to do there.

Is there any way I can force the reformatting of this drive so it will be usable? (I am comfortable on the command line.)

Since it appears in Disk Utility, doesn't that mean it's functional on some level?

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

I have a new LaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive (this one). When I connect it to my Macbook pro with Friewire 800 cable (provided), the drive beeps about 20 times, then I get "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."

enter image description here

When I open Disk Utility, the drive appears there, unformatted and with no partition. Most of the tabs of Disk Utility have greyed out buttons, so there's nothing much I can do. See the screenshots below.

I have tried using 3rd party data recovery apps like Disk Warrior and DiskTools pro, and these programs don't recognize the drive so nothing to do there.

Is there any way I can force the reformatting of this drive so it will be usable? (I am comfortable on the command line.)

Since it appears in Disk Utility, doesn't that mean it's functional on some level?

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

I have a new LaCie d2 Quadra 4 TB external harddrive. When I connect it to my Macbook pro with Friewire 800 cable (provided), the drive beeps about 20 times, then I get "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."

enter image description here

When I open Disk Utility, the drive appears there, unformatted and with no partition. Most of the tabs of Disk Utility have greyed out buttons, so there's nothing much I can do. See the screenshots below.

I have tried using 3rd party data recovery apps like Disk Warrior and DiskTools pro, and these programs don't recognize the drive so nothing to do there.

Is there any way I can force the reformatting of this drive so it will be usable? (I am comfortable on the command line.)

Since it appears in Disk Utility, doesn't that mean it's functional on some level?

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Mac OSX Disk Utility corrupted drive.

Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user