Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    @Babu, I would suggest you cleanup up System Restore Points with the method in my answer rather than try forcing them out. I think, if required, you can also turn of system restore completely (would suggest against that, though).
    – nik
    Commented Aug 17, 2009 at 14:20
  • Thanks for the advice! However, the purpose of this was to get rid of several gigs of files that I had deleted a year ago that was lingering in the directory. I'm not even sure if it disabled the restore points, but I suspect it might have.
    – Babu
    Commented Aug 17, 2009 at 18:05
  • The recycle bin is automatically emptied by Windows once it reaches its maximum size. Why not let Windows take care of emptying it and enjoy the free second chance it gives you. Commented Mar 29, 2010 at 1:57
  • It's the tradeoff between getting the space I need NOW, unsafely, and getting the space I need whenever vista feels like giving it back to me (never, or close enough to never in my experience). Like I've implied, it's not always a good idea, merely an available method.
    – Babu
    Commented Mar 29, 2010 at 20:08