Skip to main content
added 51 characters in body
Source Link

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

The goal is to preserve the date would preferably be preserved as a number, preferablybut if it has to be turned into a string, then so be it.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).

I, of course, also tried Wrap Text and reducing cell width, but that resulted in ####. Apparently, wrap text doesn't work on formatted numbers.

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

The goal is to preserve the date as a number, preferably.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).

I, of course, also tried Wrap Text and reducing cell width, but that resulted in ####. Apparently, wrap text doesn't work on formatted numbers.

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

The date would preferably be preserved as a number, but if it has to be turned into a string, then so be it.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).

I, of course, also tried Wrap Text and reducing cell width, but that resulted in ####. Apparently, wrap text doesn't work on formatted numbers.

added 152 characters in body
Source Link

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

The goal is to preserve the date as a number, preferably.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).

I, of course, also tried Wrap Text and reducing cell width, but that resulted in ####. Apparently, wrap text doesn't work on formatted numbers.

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

The goal is to preserve the date as a number, preferably.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).

I, of course, also tried Wrap Text and reducing cell width, but that resulted in ####. Apparently, wrap text doesn't work on formatted numbers.

Source Link

Format dates so they are split across two lines

enter image description here

See the dates above? I'd like to format them so they are split over two lines, as illustrated below (Note: the Oct 13 is a mistake; it should have been split as well).

In other words, between the month and the day I'd like either:

  • A soft line break, which makes the day wrap around to the second line only when the cell is too narrow
  • A hard line break, such that the day is always on the second line.

How do I do this?

enter image description here

For illustration purposes, I did it by hand by pasting into a Word document and rearranging cells. But I'm looking to do this natively in Excel.

I tried adding a newline character in the number format:

mmm \n dd
mmm ^p dd

but none of these did anything (aside from adding an unwanted n or p).