Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 12, 2014 at 1:57 comment added MGOwen You're right Richie086, my title is confusing. I wonder how I can express this properly? "How do I get PCs on the same LAN but not on the same WINDOWS network to share files" maybe? Thanks I'll try the \\ method again but I don't think that worked last time...
Sep 8, 2014 at 0:16 comment added Richie086 oh, for some reason I had the impression you were trying to share files between a computer, located at your workplace and a computer on your home network. Is this work laptop at your house, but you are just having issues connecting to a windows file share? From your work computer, you should be able to connect to a file share located on a home computer by typing \\ipaddress\sharedfolder in explorer. Set the share permissions on your local computer to allow the Everyone group to read/write to the share and you should be able to copy stuff from your work computer if its on the same LAN.
Sep 2, 2014 at 8:21 comment added MGOwen Isn't Dropbox a remote (cloud) only service? Surely some kind of simple local file share would be more secure, faster, larger, and cheaper?
Sep 1, 2014 at 7:44 history answered Richie086 CC BY-SA 3.0