Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • I don't want to use iptables because it's too complicated. Tun2socks looks like I need SSH and a server. I just have an IP and a port...How can I just use the IP and port?
    – Alex
    Commented Sep 4, 2014 at 0:01
  • tun2socks doesn't require SSH and a server; the example on their site is for using SSH to create the SOCKS proxy in the first place. If you already have a SOCKS proxy, it's entirely unnecessary. And yes, iptables was a wrong way on my part. OS X, being based on BSD, uses ipfw rather than iptables, which is for the Linux kernel. As for it being complicated, you may be able to find a frontend that'll set it up for you in an easier to use manner, but I've no experience on this matter. It being complicated at a low level anyway has a lot to do with why it is so capable for the job.
    – 0xDAFACADE
    Commented Sep 4, 2014 at 1:11
  • I've added a frontend for you to use to the answer if it helps make navigating ipfw easier.
    – 0xDAFACADE
    Commented Sep 4, 2014 at 1:19