Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • 2
    This is only tangentially related to my question, and IMO, is more of a comment and less of an answer. But as a reply to your post, yes, I have indeed made a backup of my important files, and will be replacing the hard drive as soon as I am able to. My hard drive still has life left to it though, as I am still using it daily and no more bad sectors have arised. Commented Aug 24, 2014 at 16:53
  • Its worth taking into account when deciding what to do though. In the longer term, bad sectors and corrupted data is a sign something is wrong, and backing up and replacing the drive is probably the smart thing, even if its not an answer the OP wants to hear.
    – Journeyman Geek
    Commented Aug 25, 2014 at 0:46