Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Try to reinstall VMware tools. Sometimes it helps, but in my experience the problem always returns. You could open a ticket with VMware Support, but this very old problem exists on many configurations since long time and was never solved.
    – harrymc
    Commented Aug 25, 2014 at 8:55
  • As I said, I'm using open-vm-tools (freshly updated); VMware tools are just a PITA. At least for Gentoo they simply suck. Commented Aug 25, 2014 at 8:57
  • VMware tools were always a PITA, but might work better than open-vm-tools in your case. As I said, impossible to predict which configuration and VM will have that problem. I think it's better to avoid suspending the VM, because VMware tools in my case don't fully work on power up. Funny that you can't find a pre-built version.
    – harrymc
    Commented Aug 25, 2014 at 9:58
  • Well, the prebuilt tools themselves do work - kind of. I have the same problem as described in the Q with them and did some VMware-Kung-Fu just to achieve nothing at all. But the VMware kernel drivers (e.g. for vmhgfs) simply don't build. This is why I dumped VMware tools. Commented Aug 25, 2014 at 10:41
  • My last trick that I can contribute is in Guest isolation to disable drag & drop, click OK, then re-enable and again OK. Sometimes this makes it work until next time (using VMware tools). Sometimes also reinstalling VMware tools again makes it work for at least the current session.
    – harrymc
    Commented Aug 25, 2014 at 11:08