Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Improved some code formatting.
Source Link
zx485
  • 2.3k
  • 12
  • 19
  • 24

I'm getting used to Linux way of giving focus to a window just by hovering over it with the mouse. I've found it's possible to get the same effect in Windows by changing a byte in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\UserPreferencesMask

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\UserPreferencesMask 

(default for me was 9e 1e 07 80 129e 1e 07 80 12, and I switched the 9e9e to 9f9f) and I'm quite happy with that.

Now here is the thing, when I activate the mouse-over focus I also get another effect : the mouse is moved automatically to the center of the newly focused window when I use alt-tabAlt+Tab. The mouse also gets moved to the taskbar if I open the windows menu using the windowsWin key. I really hate having my mouse moved for me and would like do disable this behavior but it seems to be linked to the mouse-over focus.

Has any one else experienced this problem ? I found a lot of tutorials explaining how to get the focus follow the mouse by changing this registry key but no one seems to be bothered by the mouse moving by itself.

I'm getting used to Linux way of giving focus to a window just by hovering over it with the mouse. I've found it's possible to get the same effect in Windows by changing a byte in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\UserPreferencesMask (default for me was 9e 1e 07 80 12, I switched the 9e to 9f) and I'm quite happy with that.

Now here is the thing, when I activate the mouse-over focus I also get another effect : the mouse is moved automatically to the center of the newly focused window when I use alt-tab. The mouse also gets moved to the taskbar if I open the windows menu using the windows key. I really hate having my mouse moved for me and would like do disable this behavior but it seems to be linked to the mouse-over focus.

Has any one else experienced this problem ? I found a lot of tutorials explaining how to get the focus follow the mouse by changing this registry key but no one seems to be bothered by the mouse moving by itself.

I'm getting used to Linux way of giving focus to a window just by hovering over it with the mouse. I've found it's possible to get the same effect in Windows by changing a byte in

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\UserPreferencesMask 

(default for me was 9e 1e 07 80 12, and I switched the 9e to 9f) and I'm quite happy with that.

Now here is the thing, when I activate the mouse-over focus I also get another effect : the mouse is moved automatically to the center of the newly focused window when I use Alt+Tab. The mouse also gets moved to the taskbar if I open the windows menu using the Win key. I really hate having my mouse moved for me and would like do disable this behavior but it seems to be linked to the mouse-over focus.

Has any one else experienced this problem ? I found a lot of tutorials explaining how to get the focus follow the mouse by changing this registry key but no one seems to be bothered by the mouse moving by itself.

Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Source Link

Using Alt-Tab moves mouse to centre of newly focused window

I'm getting used to Linux way of giving focus to a window just by hovering over it with the mouse. I've found it's possible to get the same effect in Windows by changing a byte in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\UserPreferencesMask (default for me was 9e 1e 07 80 12, I switched the 9e to 9f) and I'm quite happy with that.

Now here is the thing, when I activate the mouse-over focus I also get another effect : the mouse is moved automatically to the center of the newly focused window when I use alt-tab. The mouse also gets moved to the taskbar if I open the windows menu using the windows key. I really hate having my mouse moved for me and would like do disable this behavior but it seems to be linked to the mouse-over focus.

Has any one else experienced this problem ? I found a lot of tutorials explaining how to get the focus follow the mouse by changing this registry key but no one seems to be bothered by the mouse moving by itself.