Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 25, 2014 at 15:29 comment added Mike H-R @FrankThomas Thank you, I think the second article you link to solves my question. If you put it as an answer I'll accept it, otherwise I'll pull the relevant sources out and answer it myself, whichever you prefer.
Jul 25, 2014 at 13:56 comment added Frank Thomas well, you set your sources in /etc/apt/sources.list. see more details here: wiki.debian.org/SourcesList here is info on configuring to read from the unstable repos: binarytides.com/enable-testing-repo-debian
Jul 25, 2014 at 12:35 comment added Mike H-R @FrankThomas Actually, sorry, that doesn't work for me, how do I set apt-get to install from packages.debian.org/sid/emacs24?
Jul 25, 2014 at 12:27 comment added Mike H-R @FrankThomas Thank you, so you can install packages from sid (which if I understand right is the unstable package repository, right?) with a normal debian distro? brilliant, that is pretty much what I was trying to figure out how to do. Thanks. Is that the only source for normal user packages in debian? If so then put that as an answer and I'd accept it. Thanks.
Jul 25, 2014 at 11:46 comment added Frank Thomas sudo apt-get install emacs24 packages.debian.org/sid/emacs24 Apt is the repository tool for debian distros, and works rather well overall (far better than the experiences I've had with yum). en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Packaging_Tool
Jul 25, 2014 at 10:46 comment added Mike H-R I'm also struggling to figure out how to install emacs24 in debian, advice on how to do that would be helpful too. :)
Jul 25, 2014 at 9:24 history asked Mike H-R CC BY-SA 3.0