Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Oliver Salzburg
  • 88k
  • 64
  • 266
  • 308
Source Link
brilliant
  • 625
  • 4
  • 13
  • 17

Why does wget download specific files, but can't download them all at once?

I am using Windows XP and am trying to use wget to download all the pictures (and some other files) from my website which is going to be closed on a host in about two weeks (so I need to hurry).

I wonder why I can download specific files with no problem, but when it comes to downloading everything from that site automatically, it just doesn't work.

If try this line, for example:

wget –r http://*the site’s name*/ lang2.JPG 

It works just fine: It create a folder (its name being the name of the web site), and downloads a picture (lang2.JPG) into it.

However, when I try this one:

wget –r http://*the site’s name* 

it doesn’t do anything. I only get these lines in the command window:

HTTP request sent, awaiting response…403 Forbidden 2009-12-02 09:54:33
ERROR 403: Forbidden

Why is it so that when I download a particular picture from my site, it is not forbidden, but when I want to download all the files automatically, it is forbidden?