Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Thanks! It's always good to have several options available in the tool set. But in this case, diskpart did the trick. I did encounter some minor error when I created the partition, but I think that was because I aborted the format command once, because it was not flagged to perform a quick format, and I didn't want to wait very long. So the next time I tried to format it reported something about uncompleted... something. So I rebooted into command prompt mode (safe mode) in Windows 8 and to my surprise diskpart was available there too. So that's all good, all nice.
    – Samir
    Commented May 13, 2014 at 11:30
  • good.I have faced this problem and solved by using ease us partition master.
    – A. Prasad
    Commented May 13, 2014 at 11:32
  • I personally use Acronis Disk Director 11 for my partitioning needs in Windows. Because the diskmgmt.msc pretty much sucks. I'm not familiar with Ease US Partition Master. I will have a look at it. They even have a payed Pro version, so that's nice. Since I have had problems with and complaining to Acronis about their very outdated Disk Director 11 and they have yet to update it, I might switch to that one. It reminds me of early versions of Disk Director. It's sad that not even Windows 8 has a proper partitioning tool.
    – Samir
    Commented May 13, 2014 at 11:38
  • You can try this till now i don't have any problem with free version. i think no need to purchase if you are using for home PC/Laptop.
    – A. Prasad
    Commented May 13, 2014 at 11:41
  • 1
    what a stupid thing! it asks you to pay in order to perform operation. SPAAAM!
    – Madrugada
    Commented Nov 1, 2016 at 17:15