Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Can you add some more detail regarding the symptoms you're experiencing? Commented May 7, 2014 at 5:02
  • Hi Bradley, I often see that I am "connected" to the network but when I try to load a page, I am unable to connect. Sometimes I see that I am connected to the network but the status is "limited" - no internet access. As I said it's pretty random. I can work online for an hour and then the connection drops. When I try to reconnect (sometimes) networks are not even picked up for a little bit. It makes no sense to me. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Commented May 7, 2014 at 12:05
  • When you disconnect and want to "refresh" your network connection, you can open an elevated cmd prompt and run ipconfig /release ipconfig /flushdns ipconfig /renew, which should help resolve the delay you mentioned. You can also write a .bat script to run this in a single click / make a desktop shortcut / add to a RainMeter skin, etc.
    – Arctiic
    Commented Nov 4, 2019 at 12:42
  • To figure out where the error is, I would ping 1.1.1.1, the gateway, and localhost. This will help figure out if the error is the network card, internal network, or external network.
    – Ecstasy
    Commented Jan 28, 2020 at 19:49