Skip to main content
added 89 characters in body
Source Link
Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007
  • 113.2k
  • 19
  • 203
  • 270

I am trying to install Windows 7 Professional x64 from a bootable USB stick. I have used the Windows 7 USB DVD Download Tool to create the media and used a copy of the W7 ISO from this website: http://www.w7forums.com/threads/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-image-downloads.12325/an ISO.

The machine boots from USB fine, and enters the Windows installation wizard but then I get an error stating "A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing...":

A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disk, CD, DVD, or USB flash drive, please insert it now.

I have tried setting the SATA controller in the BIOS to both AHCI and ATA but neither appear make any difference. I've

I've also tried both the USB 3 and USB 2 ports with no difference.

I've also tried to use the files from an official Dell recovery CD as this is a Dell laptop but again, no dice.

All this because there's no optical drive in the machine!

Dell Vostro V131 / i5-2450M / BIOS A04

Can anyone offer any advice please?

I am trying to install Windows 7 Professional x64 from a bootable USB stick. I have used the Windows 7 USB DVD Download Tool to create the media and used a copy of the W7 ISO from this website: http://www.w7forums.com/threads/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-image-downloads.12325/

The machine boots from USB fine and enters the Windows installation wizard but then I get an error stating "A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing..."

I have tried setting the SATA controller in the BIOS to both AHCI and ATA but neither appear make any difference. I've also tried both the USB 3 and USB 2 ports with no difference.

I've also tried to use the files from an official Dell recovery CD as this is a Dell laptop but again, no dice.

All this because there's no optical drive in the machine!

Dell Vostro V131 / i5-2450M / BIOS A04

Can anyone offer any advice please?

I am trying to install Windows 7 Professional x64 from a bootable USB stick. I have used the Windows 7 USB DVD Download Tool to create the media from an ISO.

The machine boots from USB fine, and enters the Windows installation wizard but then I get an error stating:

A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disk, CD, DVD, or USB flash drive, please insert it now.

I have tried setting the SATA controller in the BIOS to both AHCI and ATA but neither appear make any difference.

I've also tried both the USB 3 and USB 2 ports with no difference.

I've also tried to use the files from an official Dell recovery CD as this is a Dell laptop but again, no dice.

All this because there's no optical drive in the machine!

Dell Vostro V131 / i5-2450M / BIOS A04

Can anyone offer any advice please?

Source Link
Rich M
  • 390
  • 1
  • 3
  • 19

Windows 7 USB install error

I am trying to install Windows 7 Professional x64 from a bootable USB stick. I have used the Windows 7 USB DVD Download Tool to create the media and used a copy of the W7 ISO from this website: http://www.w7forums.com/threads/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-image-downloads.12325/

The machine boots from USB fine and enters the Windows installation wizard but then I get an error stating "A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing..."

I have tried setting the SATA controller in the BIOS to both AHCI and ATA but neither appear make any difference. I've also tried both the USB 3 and USB 2 ports with no difference.

I've also tried to use the files from an official Dell recovery CD as this is a Dell laptop but again, no dice.

All this because there's no optical drive in the machine!

Dell Vostro V131 / i5-2450M / BIOS A04

Can anyone offer any advice please?