Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 10, 2014 at 15:06 comment added cirrus Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. Oh if only that were true. IMHO, the search feature shouldn't traverse anything that's not in the index at all. The way it ought (used?) to work is that if it's not indexed - don't list it. The way it seems to work on 8.1 is that if it's not indexed, then we'll just trawl the hard disk on your UI thread. Thanks guys! That's just busted. I've started moving all my files out of 'my documents' so I can bring it to a reasonable size that the indexer can handle, since windows will search it any any regard. Way to break the start menu guys. #fail
Apr 10, 2014 at 12:58 comment added snowdude I believe the two are connected. Search relies on the index.
Apr 7, 2014 at 14:56 comment added cirrus @snowdude I believe that's indexing not search. I can deselect AppData and I have deselected most of it and most of the other options. All that means is it won't use the index, but it'll still search AFAICT. NOT having things in the index makes it even worse because it still trawls all the files = that's the problem.
Apr 7, 2014 at 13:58 comment added snowdude What do you have listed in your Indexing Options? I'm using 8.1 and my Start Menu search doesn't look in any of my AppData folders (I only have 'Start Menu' listed in my Indexing Options).
Apr 7, 2014 at 13:54 history edited cirrus CC BY-SA 3.0
added 1 characters in body
Apr 7, 2014 at 11:00 comment added cirrus Thanks for the thought, but that won't fly because it's largely the start menu items I actually want to search when I'm on the start menu. I don't actually care that much if it doesn't find a single other file or library. I just want the start menu to work. The start menu is unusable unless it stops locking up explorer. Wierdly though, this has only been a problem since 8.1, 8 was fine.
Apr 7, 2014 at 10:50 comment added Devon Parsons I'm not positive that this will work, but try creating a library of the locations you do want trawled and searching that library in explorer. It's not perfect, because it's not the start menu search, but you could just pin a link to this library in the start menu.
Apr 7, 2014 at 10:31 history asked cirrus CC BY-SA 3.0