Skip to main content
added 1 characters in body
Source Link
cirrus
  • 181
  • 1
  • 5

Since the Windows8Windows 8.1 update the start menu on my laptop is unusable. Every time I use the search box Explorer goes to max CPU % for a couple of minutes after I've stopped looking.

I know this is related to a lack of indexes and/or permissions on the AppData folder but I can't index all the files as that consumes even more resources for longer.

What I want to do, is tell Explorer that I don't want it trawling all 'these' folders in my AppData, just look in the start menu, maybe a couple of other places, but that's it! do NOT go off searching my entire profile tree, I don't need that.

All the articles I've come across so far discuss including or excluding things in the index but not the search results.

Now my laptop is a developer machine, and having given up fighting convention years ago I've been following standard practice and now all my working files live in my AppData profile. So by the time I've built software, downloaded git source control trees and the like, the contents of my profile could be changing by hundreds of MB if not GB per day. The indexer doesn't seem to be able to cope with this. So therefore, indexing these locations (even if I wanted them searched) is NOT an option.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm very happy to use the new start menu to search for, and to launch programs and that's largely all I really need from the start menu. I'm quite happy with the design in principle but it needs to work!

Since the Windows8.1 update the start menu on my laptop is unusable. Every time I use the search box Explorer goes to max CPU % for a couple of minutes after I've stopped looking.

I know this is related to a lack of indexes and/or permissions on the AppData folder but I can't index all the files as that consumes even more resources for longer.

What I want to do, is tell Explorer that I don't want it trawling all 'these' folders in my AppData, just look in the start menu, maybe a couple of other places, but that's it! do NOT go off searching my entire profile tree, I don't need that.

All the articles I've come across so far discuss including or excluding things in the index but not the search results.

Now my laptop is a developer machine, and having given up fighting convention years ago I've been following standard practice and now all my working files live in my AppData profile. So by the time I've built software, downloaded git source control trees and the like, the contents of my profile could be changing by hundreds of MB if not GB per day. The indexer doesn't seem to be able to cope with this. So therefore, indexing these locations (even if I wanted them searched) is NOT an option.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm very happy to use the new start menu to search for, and to launch programs and that's largely all I really need from the start menu. I'm quite happy with the design in principle but it needs to work!

Since the Windows 8.1 update the start menu on my laptop is unusable. Every time I use the search box Explorer goes to max CPU % for a couple of minutes after I've stopped looking.

I know this is related to a lack of indexes and/or permissions on the AppData folder but I can't index all the files as that consumes even more resources for longer.

What I want to do, is tell Explorer that I don't want it trawling all 'these' folders in my AppData, just look in the start menu, maybe a couple of other places, but that's it! do NOT go off searching my entire profile tree, I don't need that.

All the articles I've come across so far discuss including or excluding things in the index but not the search results.

Now my laptop is a developer machine, and having given up fighting convention years ago I've been following standard practice and now all my working files live in my AppData profile. So by the time I've built software, downloaded git source control trees and the like, the contents of my profile could be changing by hundreds of MB if not GB per day. The indexer doesn't seem to be able to cope with this. So therefore, indexing these locations (even if I wanted them searched) is NOT an option.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm very happy to use the new start menu to search for, and to launch programs and that's largely all I really need from the start menu. I'm quite happy with the design in principle but it needs to work!

Source Link
cirrus
  • 181
  • 1
  • 5

How to Exclude folders from Windows 8 Search, not indexing (start menu)

Since the Windows8.1 update the start menu on my laptop is unusable. Every time I use the search box Explorer goes to max CPU % for a couple of minutes after I've stopped looking.

I know this is related to a lack of indexes and/or permissions on the AppData folder but I can't index all the files as that consumes even more resources for longer.

What I want to do, is tell Explorer that I don't want it trawling all 'these' folders in my AppData, just look in the start menu, maybe a couple of other places, but that's it! do NOT go off searching my entire profile tree, I don't need that.

All the articles I've come across so far discuss including or excluding things in the index but not the search results.

Now my laptop is a developer machine, and having given up fighting convention years ago I've been following standard practice and now all my working files live in my AppData profile. So by the time I've built software, downloaded git source control trees and the like, the contents of my profile could be changing by hundreds of MB if not GB per day. The indexer doesn't seem to be able to cope with this. So therefore, indexing these locations (even if I wanted them searched) is NOT an option.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm very happy to use the new start menu to search for, and to launch programs and that's largely all I really need from the start menu. I'm quite happy with the design in principle but it needs to work!