Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

Timeline for Hard drive weird issue

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 5, 2014 at 14:30 comment added user260243 try to FULL FORMAT . seems to be problem is not physical. just magnetic problem. because pending sector meanings to trying some sectors to reallocate. if pending sectors will decrease and reallocated is still 0 , problem will be removed when full format. but if you want to get data you must be clone disk. did you tried to format fat32 ? . maybe it can mountable after format. and try to clone disk and get data from clone. if you have enough space on other disks , clone your disk (image) to another disk. then get data back on image
Mar 9, 2014 at 14:48 comment added user34853 I have decided to give up on the DATA in that partition and I formatted it with Gparted, now the pending sector count decreased to 40 while the reallocated sector count is still 0, I still can't mount that partition though. Any thoughts?
Mar 9, 2014 at 12:58 comment added user34853 I'm unable to reach it with windows, but I'll look for a similar way of doing this with ubuntu. I have some important data that I have no access to and I would hope not to lose on my windows partition, so if no other solutions are possible I will try this.
Mar 9, 2014 at 12:44 history answered user260243 CC BY-SA 3.0