Skip to main content
Post Made Community Wiki
Source Link

Mechanical keyboard switches: linear, soft, click. What is the difference?

I intend to buy a keyboard with mechanical switches. Some are available with different types of switches.

Deck has linear and tactile. Cherry has three different types which are sometimes referred to by their color:

  • Linear = black
  • Soft = brown
  • Click = blue

I found enough technical information about the different types (even force-deflexion graphs), but that doesn't really help to decide which fits me best.

As it's not easily possible to try all of them I'd like to know about your experiences. If you have a mechanical keyboard and know what type of switches it contains, I'd like to hear your opinion.

I also would like to know which type of switches the 'Das Keyboard' uses. People seem to be happy with it so this type is probably OK.