Skip to main content
added 280 characters in body
Source Link
lanky
  • 11
  • 3

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

EDIT

I have followed instructions and changed virtualbox to VBoxHeadless --startvm 8b2db 9b3-5907-431f-b25c-44ea9cade05d

Doing this through ssh gives me the error:

Invalid machine name or UUID!

however the UUID is the same as the one used in my shortcut on my desktop, and simply double clicking the .bat file runs fine.

I suspect the problem may be being caused by my ssh server being run under an administrative context. I'm using "bitvise ssh server"

Further inspection has shown that in windows command prompt i can VBoxMange list vms in both standard user and as an administrator. However running it in cygwin gives no results, and running it through ssh, whether in the cygwin terminal or command prompt, returns nothing.

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

EDIT

I have followed instructions and changed virtualbox to VBoxHeadless --startvm 8b2db 9b3-5907-431f-b25c-44ea9cade05d

Doing this through ssh gives me the error:

Invalid machine name or UUID!

however the UUID is the same as the one used in my shortcut on my desktop, and simply double clicking the .bat file runs fine.

I suspect the problem may be being caused by my ssh server being run under an administrative context. I'm using "bitvise ssh server"

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

EDIT

I have followed instructions and changed virtualbox to VBoxHeadless --startvm 8b2db 9b3-5907-431f-b25c-44ea9cade05d

Doing this through ssh gives me the error:

Invalid machine name or UUID!

however the UUID is the same as the one used in my shortcut on my desktop, and simply double clicking the .bat file runs fine.

I suspect the problem may be being caused by my ssh server being run under an administrative context. I'm using "bitvise ssh server"

Further inspection has shown that in windows command prompt i can VBoxMange list vms in both standard user and as an administrator. However running it in cygwin gives no results, and running it through ssh, whether in the cygwin terminal or command prompt, returns nothing.

added 485 characters in body
Source Link
lanky
  • 11
  • 3

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

EDIT

I have followed instructions and changed virtualbox to VBoxHeadless --startvm 8b2db 9b3-5907-431f-b25c-44ea9cade05d

Doing this through ssh gives me the error:

Invalid machine name or UUID!

however the UUID is the same as the one used in my shortcut on my desktop, and simply double clicking the .bat file runs fine.

I suspect the problem may be being caused by my ssh server being run under an administrative context. I'm using "bitvise ssh server"

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

EDIT

I have followed instructions and changed virtualbox to VBoxHeadless --startvm 8b2db 9b3-5907-431f-b25c-44ea9cade05d

Doing this through ssh gives me the error:

Invalid machine name or UUID!

however the UUID is the same as the one used in my shortcut on my desktop, and simply double clicking the .bat file runs fine.

I suspect the problem may be being caused by my ssh server being run under an administrative context. I'm using "bitvise ssh server"

Corrected spelling, fixed grammar
Source Link
karel
  • 13.5k
  • 26
  • 47
  • 54

How to run a virtual box vmVirtualBox VM on windowsWindows through sshSSH

I have a ubuntuan Ubuntu server virtual machine on my windowsWindows box, I am able to run the virtual boxVirtualBox on my windowsWindows machine without problems, and then iI can sshSSH into the newly created server. HoweverHowever what I am trying to do is sshto SSH into my windowsWindows machine (I have an sshSSH server installed) and start the virtual boxVirtualBox by doingrunning the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID iI use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the virtualboxVirtualBox machine manager.

When iI do this the guiGUI for the vmVM does not appear, checking. Checking the task manager processesTask Manager Processes tab iI am only able to see the virtual boxVirtualBox process if iI click showShow all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an sshSSH connection to the new server does not work. AndAnd doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the windowsWindows command prompt starts the vmVM with no problems.

How to run a virtual box vm on windows through ssh

I have a ubuntu server virtual machine on my windows box, I am able to run the virtual box on my windows machine without problems and then i can ssh into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is ssh into my windows machine (I have an ssh server installed) and start the virtual box by doing the following

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID i use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the virtualbox machine manager.

When i do this the gui for the vm does not appear, checking the task manager processes tab i am only able to see the virtual box process if i click show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an ssh connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the windows command prompt starts the vm with no problems.

How to run a VirtualBox VM on Windows through SSH

I have an Ubuntu server virtual machine on my Windows box, I am able to run VirtualBox on my Windows machine without problems, and then I can SSH into the newly created server. However what I am trying to do is to SSH into my Windows machine (I have an SSH server installed) and start VirtualBox by running the following commands:

cd C:/Program Files/oracle/virtualbox
virtualbox --vm <virtual machine ID>

The machine ID I use is the same as the one used when you create a shortcut using the VirtualBox machine manager.

When I do this the GUI for the VM does not appear. Checking the Task Manager Processes tab I am only able to see the VirtualBox process if I click Show all users, however the process shown is run under the same user name as my account.

Trying to do an SSH connection to the new server does not work. And doing a ping scan of my network using nmap does not seem to show any new hosts.

I would like to add that using the same commands as above straight in to the Windows command prompt starts the VM with no problems.

Source Link
lanky
  • 11
  • 3
Loading