Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN.

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router.

I've followed the instructions herehere, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

To sum up everything, here is my setup: ASUS RT-N66U connected to a switch's LAN port via the ASUS router's WAN slot. The switch is connected to the modem

And here is my problem: Although I can use the internet, I am having trouble connecting to a printer that is wired up to the switch. How can I make it so that I can connect to the internet and access all other machines in my home network.

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN.

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router.

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

To sum up everything, here is my setup: ASUS RT-N66U connected to a switch's LAN port via the ASUS router's WAN slot. The switch is connected to the modem

And here is my problem: Although I can use the internet, I am having trouble connecting to a printer that is wired up to the switch. How can I make it so that I can connect to the internet and access all other machines in my home network.

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN.

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router.

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

To sum up everything, here is my setup: ASUS RT-N66U connected to a switch's LAN port via the ASUS router's WAN slot. The switch is connected to the modem

And here is my problem: Although I can use the internet, I am having trouble connecting to a printer that is wired up to the switch. How can I make it so that I can connect to the internet and access all other machines in my home network.

added 378 characters in body
Source Link
user302791
user302791

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN.

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router.

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

To sum up everything, here is my setup: ASUS RT-N66U connected to a switch's LAN port via the ASUS router's WAN slot. The switch is connected to the modem

And here is my problem: Although I can use the internet, I am having trouble connecting to a printer that is wired up to the switch. How can I fix this?make it so that I can connect to the internet and access all other machines in my home network.

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN.

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router.

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

How can I fix this?

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN.

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router.

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

To sum up everything, here is my setup: ASUS RT-N66U connected to a switch's LAN port via the ASUS router's WAN slot. The switch is connected to the modem

And here is my problem: Although I can use the internet, I am having trouble connecting to a printer that is wired up to the switch. How can I make it so that I can connect to the internet and access all other machines in my home network.

minor formatting and removed thanks
Source Link
Thor
  • 4k
  • 27
  • 31

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN. 

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router. 

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet. Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

How can I fix this?

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN. Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router. I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet. Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

I want to expand my home network with the ASUS RT-N66U. I want several workstations in one part of the house to be wired, but the other workstations in another part of the house to be wireless, while at the same time, being able to access all the machines (e.g. printer) in the network via LAN. 

Obviously, connecting the LAN side of the main switch to the WAN socket of the wireless router doesn't do anything because this means that I won't be able to access anything that isn't connected to the wireless router. 

I've followed the instructions here, but after doing so, I get an error message saying that the router isn't connected to WAN whenever I try to access something on the internet.

How can I fix this?

Source Link
user302791
user302791
Loading