Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Question Protected by CommunityBot

I've been trying for a month now to dual boot Windows 8.1 and Debian Jessie now. I thought it was about time I asked for help as I'm becoming a little crazy :P.

I've tried following a lot of tutorials, I'll link a few:

http://itstuff.the-zabala.net/2013/08/dual-boot-debian-7-wheezy-on-existing.html?showComment=1391441528704#c6800486694487233060

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2013/02/06/how-to-dual-boot-fedora-18-and-windows-8-on-one-hdd-with-grub-installed-in-a-pbr/2/

I can't post more links, a shame, because I've tried a lot. There were some really easy tutorials, like the first one, where I couldn't continue, because 'sudo modprobe efivars'sudo modprobe efivars failed. 'sudo modprobe efivarfs'sudo modprobe efivarfs did succeed though. But when I continued after using efivarfs, there wasn't a new entry.

I also tried using EasyBCD, setting it on GRUB 2 and 'automatically"automatically choose and load'load", but it would choose "/NST/AutoNeoGrub0.mbr mbr". Which is of course is not correct. So basically, to sum up my problem: Modprobe efivarsmodprobe efivars doesn't work, and because a lot depends on that, every tutorial I follow, fails.

How I can start Linux and some background information: I had Windows 8 first and still want to keep it and use its bootloader, because it already loads windows 8 a bit. I've got Secure Boot off and UefiUEFI on with legacyLegacy boot options on. I can boot Debian by going into boot menu and choosing Hard Drive under Legacy Boot.

Oh yeah, Almost forgot, when I wanted to install Debian, using an USB stick with some nice Windows programs didn't work, so I had to use a DVD+RW to install it.

I've tried this order a few times now:

$sudo mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi

$sudo modprobe efivarfs

$sudo grub-install /dev/sda

$sudo update-grub

sudo mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi
sudo modprobe efivarfs
sudo grub-install /dev/sda
sudo update-grub

Sometimes I had to use --force--force, I don't remember why anymore, I have tried so much stuff xD...

I really hope some of you have got a solution for me!

I've been trying for a month now to dual boot Windows 8.1 and Debian Jessie now. I thought it was about time I asked for help as I'm becoming a little crazy :P

I've tried following a lot of tutorials, I'll link a few:

http://itstuff.the-zabala.net/2013/08/dual-boot-debian-7-wheezy-on-existing.html?showComment=1391441528704#c6800486694487233060

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2013/02/06/how-to-dual-boot-fedora-18-and-windows-8-on-one-hdd-with-grub-installed-in-a-pbr/2/

I can't post more links, a shame, because I've tried a lot. There were some really easy tutorials, like the first one, where I couldn't continue, because 'sudo modprobe efivars' failed. 'sudo modprobe efivarfs' did succeed though. But when I continued after using efivarfs, there wasn't a new entry.

I also tried using EasyBCD, setting it on GRUB 2 and 'automatically choose and load', but it would choose /NST/AutoNeoGrub0.mbr . Which is of course not correct. So basically, to sum up my problem: Modprobe efivars doesn't work, and because a lot depends on that, every tutorial I follow, fails.

How I can start Linux and some background information: I had Windows 8 first and still want to keep it and use its bootloader, because it already loads windows 8 a bit. I've got Secure Boot off and Uefi on with legacy boot options on. I can boot Debian by going into boot menu and choosing Hard Drive under Legacy Boot.

Oh yeah, Almost forgot, when I wanted to install Debian, using an USB stick with some nice Windows programs didn't work, so I had to use a DVD+RW to install it.

I've tried this order a few times now:

$sudo mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi

$sudo modprobe efivarfs

$sudo grub-install /dev/sda

$sudo update-grub

Sometimes I had to use --force, I don't remember why anymore, I have tried so much stuff xD

I really hope some of you have got a solution for me!

I've been trying for a month now to dual boot Windows 8.1 and Debian Jessie now. I thought it was about time I asked for help as I'm becoming a little crazy.

I've tried following a lot of tutorials, I'll link a few:

http://itstuff.the-zabala.net/2013/08/dual-boot-debian-7-wheezy-on-existing.html?showComment=1391441528704#c6800486694487233060

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2013/02/06/how-to-dual-boot-fedora-18-and-windows-8-on-one-hdd-with-grub-installed-in-a-pbr/2/

I can't post more links, a shame, because I've tried a lot. There were some really easy tutorials, like the first one, where I couldn't continue, because sudo modprobe efivars failed. sudo modprobe efivarfs did succeed though. But when I continued after using efivarfs, there wasn't a new entry.

I also tried using EasyBCD, setting it on GRUB 2 and "automatically choose and load", but it would choose "/NST/AutoNeoGrub0.mbr". Which is of course is not correct. So basically, to sum up my problem: modprobe efivars doesn't work, and because a lot depends on that, every tutorial I follow, fails.

How I can start Linux and some background information: I had Windows 8 first and still want to keep it and use its bootloader, because it already loads windows 8 a bit. I've got Secure Boot off and UEFI on with Legacy boot options on. I can boot Debian by going into boot menu and choosing Hard Drive under Legacy Boot.

Oh yeah, Almost forgot, when I wanted to install Debian, using an USB stick with some nice Windows programs didn't work, so I had to use a DVD+RW to install it.

I've tried this order a few times now:

sudo mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi
sudo modprobe efivarfs
sudo grub-install /dev/sda
sudo update-grub

Sometimes I had to use --force, I don't remember why anymore, I have tried so much stuff...

I really hope some of you have got a solution for me!

Source Link
Protonz
  • 93
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

Trying to dual boot Windows 8.1 and Debian Jessie

I've been trying for a month now to dual boot Windows 8.1 and Debian Jessie now. I thought it was about time I asked for help as I'm becoming a little crazy :P

I've tried following a lot of tutorials, I'll link a few:

http://itstuff.the-zabala.net/2013/08/dual-boot-debian-7-wheezy-on-existing.html?showComment=1391441528704#c6800486694487233060

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2013/02/06/how-to-dual-boot-fedora-18-and-windows-8-on-one-hdd-with-grub-installed-in-a-pbr/2/

I can't post more links, a shame, because I've tried a lot. There were some really easy tutorials, like the first one, where I couldn't continue, because 'sudo modprobe efivars' failed. 'sudo modprobe efivarfs' did succeed though. But when I continued after using efivarfs, there wasn't a new entry.

I also tried using EasyBCD, setting it on GRUB 2 and 'automatically choose and load', but it would choose /NST/AutoNeoGrub0.mbr . Which is of course not correct. So basically, to sum up my problem: Modprobe efivars doesn't work, and because a lot depends on that, every tutorial I follow, fails.

How I can start Linux and some background information: I had Windows 8 first and still want to keep it and use its bootloader, because it already loads windows 8 a bit. I've got Secure Boot off and Uefi on with legacy boot options on. I can boot Debian by going into boot menu and choosing Hard Drive under Legacy Boot.

Oh yeah, Almost forgot, when I wanted to install Debian, using an USB stick with some nice Windows programs didn't work, so I had to use a DVD+RW to install it.

I've tried this order a few times now:

$sudo mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi

$sudo modprobe efivarfs

$sudo grub-install /dev/sda

$sudo update-grub

Sometimes I had to use --force, I don't remember why anymore, I have tried so much stuff xD

I really hope some of you have got a solution for me!