Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

I have a wired network using the workgroup of PAPERTECH with the following machines:

  • Windows XP (hostname: WinXP)
  • Ubuntu 12.10 (hostname: WebServer) - via Samba
  • Mac OS X 10.9 (hostname: MacMini)

The problem is that the Mac cannot resolve the hostname for the Ubuntu web server as it cannot ping it.

###Ping Summary:###

Ping Summary:

  • From the Windows machine I can ping MacMini and WebServer.

  • From the Ubuntu machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping MacMini.PAPERTECH.local.

  • From the Mac machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping WebServer.PAPERTECH.local.

###Mac Setup###

Mac Setup

I've set the workgroup using the Network settings under: System Preferences > Network > Ethernet (Advanced ...) > WINS. I've also enabled 'Share files and folders using SMB' under: System Preferences > Sharing > File Sharing.

Despite the above settings the Mac is still unable to ping or connect to the server using the hostname: WebServer (NOTE: it is able to ping the IP address it resolves to).

Any other ideas?

I have a wired network using the workgroup of PAPERTECH with the following machines:

  • Windows XP (hostname: WinXP)
  • Ubuntu 12.10 (hostname: WebServer) - via Samba
  • Mac OS X 10.9 (hostname: MacMini)

The problem is that the Mac cannot resolve the hostname for the Ubuntu web server as it cannot ping it.

###Ping Summary:###

  • From the Windows machine I can ping MacMini and WebServer.

  • From the Ubuntu machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping MacMini.PAPERTECH.local.

  • From the Mac machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping WebServer.PAPERTECH.local.

###Mac Setup###

I've set the workgroup using the Network settings under: System Preferences > Network > Ethernet (Advanced ...) > WINS. I've also enabled 'Share files and folders using SMB' under: System Preferences > Sharing > File Sharing.

Despite the above settings the Mac is still unable to ping or connect to the server using the hostname: WebServer (NOTE: it is able to ping the IP address it resolves to).

Any other ideas?

I have a wired network using the workgroup of PAPERTECH with the following machines:

  • Windows XP (hostname: WinXP)
  • Ubuntu 12.10 (hostname: WebServer) - via Samba
  • Mac OS X 10.9 (hostname: MacMini)

The problem is that the Mac cannot resolve the hostname for the Ubuntu web server as it cannot ping it.

Ping Summary:

  • From the Windows machine I can ping MacMini and WebServer.

  • From the Ubuntu machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping MacMini.PAPERTECH.local.

  • From the Mac machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping WebServer.PAPERTECH.local.

Mac Setup

I've set the workgroup using the Network settings under: System Preferences > Network > Ethernet (Advanced ...) > WINS. I've also enabled 'Share files and folders using SMB' under: System Preferences > Sharing > File Sharing.

Despite the above settings the Mac is still unable to ping or connect to the server using the hostname: WebServer (NOTE: it is able to ping the IP address it resolves to).

Any other ideas?

Source Link

Mac Resolving Ubuntu Hostname on Windows Network

I have a wired network using the workgroup of PAPERTECH with the following machines:

  • Windows XP (hostname: WinXP)
  • Ubuntu 12.10 (hostname: WebServer) - via Samba
  • Mac OS X 10.9 (hostname: MacMini)

The problem is that the Mac cannot resolve the hostname for the Ubuntu web server as it cannot ping it.

###Ping Summary:###

  • From the Windows machine I can ping MacMini and WebServer.

  • From the Ubuntu machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping MacMini.PAPERTECH.local.

  • From the Mac machine I can ping WinXP.PAPERTECH.local but cannot ping WebServer.PAPERTECH.local.

###Mac Setup###

I've set the workgroup using the Network settings under: System Preferences > Network > Ethernet (Advanced ...) > WINS. I've also enabled 'Share files and folders using SMB' under: System Preferences > Sharing > File Sharing.

Despite the above settings the Mac is still unable to ping or connect to the server using the hostname: WebServer (NOTE: it is able to ping the IP address it resolves to).

Any other ideas?