Skip to main content
replacement of [toshiba] as per meta cleanup effort http://meta.superuser.com/q/8402/107240
Source Link

I am looking at a Toshiba P745-S4102 laptop for a friend who says that it cannot connect to wifi. It started (I guess) this past summer and she has been slow to get around to it. Upon

Upon getting the machine I made sure that the wifi card was on and that it was seeing networks. Everything seemed fine and I tried connecting to a wireless network but windows reported that it failed connecting to the network, however it is listed as connected but no packets have been sent/received. Ok fine. So I tried a different network that I knew was working (my Mac is connected to it). Again widows says that it failed to connect but is showing up like it did connect. I then run an ipconfig /all which doesn't show any network devices at all. Only thing is shows is host name, dns suffix, node type, ip routing disabled, wins proxy disabled.

Ok obviously it must be a driver issue. So I uninstall both the LAN and wifi drivers and reinstall them. Device manager is showing them as working fine. I try to connect again with the same issues. Re-run ipconfig /all same issue. Last resort is to do a system restore to an earlier point. This also doesn't work and shows the same symptoms.

After this I plugged in a known good network cable but even the LAN is not working. The same problems persist under safe mode.

All I can think of to do is factory reset, but if possible I would rather not. HopefullyHopefully someone out there has had or seen this issue and can help me.

Thanks.?

I am looking at a Toshiba P745-S4102 laptop for a friend who says that it cannot connect to wifi. It started (I guess) this past summer and she has been slow to get around to it. Upon getting the machine I made sure that the wifi card was on and that it was seeing networks. Everything seemed fine and I tried connecting to a wireless network but windows reported that it failed connecting to the network, however it is listed as connected but no packets have been sent/received. Ok fine. So I tried a different network that I knew was working (my Mac is connected to it). Again widows says that it failed to connect but is showing up like it did connect. I then run an ipconfig /all which doesn't show any network devices at all. Only thing is shows is host name, dns suffix, node type, ip routing disabled, wins proxy disabled.

Ok obviously it must be a driver issue. So I uninstall both the LAN and wifi drivers and reinstall them. Device manager is showing them as working fine. I try to connect again with the same issues. Re-run ipconfig /all same issue. Last resort is to do a system restore to an earlier point. This also doesn't work and shows the same symptoms.

After this I plugged in a known good network cable but even the LAN is not working. The same problems persist under safe mode.

All I can think of to do is factory reset, but if possible I would rather not. Hopefully someone out there has had or seen this issue and can help me.

Thanks.

I am looking at a Toshiba P745-S4102 laptop for a friend who says that it cannot connect to wifi. It started (I guess) this past summer and she has been slow to get around to it.

Upon getting the machine I made sure that the wifi card was on and that it was seeing networks. Everything seemed fine and I tried connecting to a wireless network but windows reported that it failed connecting to the network, however it is listed as connected but no packets have been sent/received. Ok fine. So I tried a different network that I knew was working (my Mac is connected to it). Again widows says that it failed to connect but is showing up like it did connect. I then run an ipconfig /all which doesn't show any network devices at all. Only thing is shows is host name, dns suffix, node type, ip routing disabled, wins proxy disabled.

Ok obviously it must be a driver issue. So I uninstall both the LAN and wifi drivers and reinstall them. Device manager is showing them as working fine. I try to connect again with the same issues. Re-run ipconfig /all same issue. Last resort is to do a system restore to an earlier point. This also doesn't work and shows the same symptoms.

After this I plugged in a known good network cable but even the LAN is not working. The same problems persist under safe mode.

All I can think of to do is factory reset, but if possible I would rather not. Hopefully someone out there has had or seen this issue and can help me?

Source Link

Can't connect to wifi or wired network with laptop

I am looking at a Toshiba P745-S4102 laptop for a friend who says that it cannot connect to wifi. It started (I guess) this past summer and she has been slow to get around to it. Upon getting the machine I made sure that the wifi card was on and that it was seeing networks. Everything seemed fine and I tried connecting to a wireless network but windows reported that it failed connecting to the network, however it is listed as connected but no packets have been sent/received. Ok fine. So I tried a different network that I knew was working (my Mac is connected to it). Again widows says that it failed to connect but is showing up like it did connect. I then run an ipconfig /all which doesn't show any network devices at all. Only thing is shows is host name, dns suffix, node type, ip routing disabled, wins proxy disabled.

Ok obviously it must be a driver issue. So I uninstall both the LAN and wifi drivers and reinstall them. Device manager is showing them as working fine. I try to connect again with the same issues. Re-run ipconfig /all same issue. Last resort is to do a system restore to an earlier point. This also doesn't work and shows the same symptoms.

After this I plugged in a known good network cable but even the LAN is not working. The same problems persist under safe mode.

All I can think of to do is factory reset, but if possible I would rather not. Hopefully someone out there has had or seen this issue and can help me.

Thanks.