Skip to main content
added 41 characters in body
Source Link

I have windows 8 installed to an external drive. The drive came with my laptop and is the one I exchanged with a SSD. At present it runs over USB 2.0 and is slow. Will buying a new USB 3.0 enclosure and running over USB 3.0 make it run fast?

Actually, most of the I/O which make the HDD slow are random 4k r/w which shouldn't be any faster on USB 3.0 since they never reach those speed levels on a normal HDD. So, can going to USB 3 make any visible difference?

EDIT: By fast I mean more responsive.

I have windows 8 installed to an external drive. The drive came with my laptop and is the one I exchanged with a SSD. At present it runs over USB 2.0 and is slow. Will buying a new USB 3.0 enclosure and running over USB 3.0 make it run fast?

Actually, most of the I/O which make the HDD slow are random 4k r/w which shouldn't be any faster on USB 3.0 since they never reach those speed levels on a normal HDD. So, can going to USB 3 make any visible difference?

I have windows 8 installed to an external drive. The drive came with my laptop and is the one I exchanged with a SSD. At present it runs over USB 2.0 and is slow. Will buying a new USB 3.0 enclosure and running over USB 3.0 make it run fast?

Actually, most of the I/O which make the HDD slow are random 4k r/w which shouldn't be any faster on USB 3.0 since they never reach those speed levels on a normal HDD. So, can going to USB 3 make any visible difference?

EDIT: By fast I mean more responsive.

Source Link

Windows 8 to go USB 3 vs USB 2

I have windows 8 installed to an external drive. The drive came with my laptop and is the one I exchanged with a SSD. At present it runs over USB 2.0 and is slow. Will buying a new USB 3.0 enclosure and running over USB 3.0 make it run fast?

Actually, most of the I/O which make the HDD slow are random 4k r/w which shouldn't be any faster on USB 3.0 since they never reach those speed levels on a normal HDD. So, can going to USB 3 make any visible difference?