Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I was testing my PSU with the paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning.

What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24-pin connector that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37 V instead of -12 V (as far as I know it should read -12 V). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on; is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSUAsus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

I was testing my PSU with the paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning.

What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24-pin connector that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37 V instead of -12 V (as far as I know it should read -12 V). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on; is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

I was testing my PSU with the paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning.

What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24-pin connector that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37 V instead of -12 V (as far as I know it should read -12 V). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on; is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

Copy edited (e.g. ref. <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volt>).
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

I was testing my PSU with the paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning. What

What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24pin24-pin connector that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37v37 V instead of -12v12 V ( asas far as I know it should read -12v 12 V). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on,on; is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

Thanks already!Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

I was testing my PSU with paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning. What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24pin that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37v instead of -12v ( as far as I know it should read -12v ). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on, is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

Thanks already!

I was testing my PSU with the paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning.

What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24-pin connector that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37 V instead of -12 V (as far as I know it should read -12 V). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on; is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

Source Link

PSU blue wire reads strange voltage

I was testing my PSU with paperclip method and checking the voltage of every wire just to be sure it is 100% functioning. What surprised me was that every wire was working just fine but one, the blue wire in the 24pin that connects to the motherboard. It was reading -37v instead of -12v ( as far as I know it should read -12v ). Anyone have any idea? Also my PC won't turn on, is there any chance that this fried my motherboard?

Initially this was the problem: Asus anti-surge protection fried (?) motherboard and PSU

Thanks already!