Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
deleted 13 characters in body
Source Link
KickAss
  • 309
  • 1
  • 3
  • 12

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 (latest one) and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. Synaptics did not "Sign" the files inside the installation properly, and so Windows doesn't allow the installation. See below for lots of solutions.

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 (latest one) and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. Synaptics did not "Sign" the files inside the installation properly, and so Windows doesn't allow the installation. See below for lots of solutions.

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. Synaptics did not "Sign" the files inside the installation properly, and so Windows doesn't allow the installation. See below for lots of solutions.

added 124 characters in body
Source Link
KickAss
  • 309
  • 1
  • 3
  • 12

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 (latest one) and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. Synaptics did not "Sign" the files inside the installation properly, and so Windows doesn't allow the installation. See below for lots of solutions.

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 (latest one) and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. See below for solutions.

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 (latest one) and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. Synaptics did not "Sign" the files inside the installation properly, and so Windows doesn't allow the installation. See below for lots of solutions.

deleted 1280 characters in body
Source Link
KickAss
  • 309
  • 1
  • 3
  • 12

I have windowsOn Windows 8.1 pro, and I had Synaptics v16[something], so I noticed ontried to install the latest Synaptics website that they had a newTouchpad Driver v17. So I went to uninstall my current driver, I did this successfully, I restarted my system, then I downloaded the new v170.19 (latest one) and tried to install it, it said it failed. I tried to install older versions, and they fail too for some unknown reasons.

I tried everything, I can't seem to install Turns out it's problem with Synaptics at all, not Windows. Is there any guides to manually remove any junk and registry entries left over by the previous version which might be stopping a new installation? What can I do? I have no scroll or smooth mouse movements with my default Microsoft Mouse DriverSee below for solutions.

EDIT: Synaptics Log

//===========================================================================
// Installation log for Synaptics device driver bundle
// Date: 2013-12-19 16:07:11
//===========================================================================


Running C:\Users\KickAss\Downloads\Synaptics_v17_0_19_C_XP32_Vista32_Win7-32_XP64_Vista64_Win7-64_Acme_Inc\Setup.exe
[ResponseResult]
[DPInst]
ShellExecuteCode=0
WaitForObjectCode=0
InstalledDriverVersion=
SetupDriverVersion=17.0.19
Certified=YES
User aborted

//===========================================================================
// Exit code = 0
// End of log: 2013-12-19 16:07:15
//===========================================================================

I have windows 8.1 pro, and I had Synaptics v16[something], so I noticed on the Synaptics website that they had a new v17. So I went to uninstall my current driver, I did this successfully, I restarted my system, then I downloaded the new v17 and tried to install it, it said it failed. I tried to install older versions, and they fail too.

I tried everything, I can't seem to install Synaptics at all. Is there any guides to manually remove any junk and registry entries left over by the previous version which might be stopping a new installation? What can I do? I have no scroll or smooth mouse movements with my default Microsoft Mouse Driver.

EDIT: Synaptics Log

//===========================================================================
// Installation log for Synaptics device driver bundle
// Date: 2013-12-19 16:07:11
//===========================================================================


Running C:\Users\KickAss\Downloads\Synaptics_v17_0_19_C_XP32_Vista32_Win7-32_XP64_Vista64_Win7-64_Acme_Inc\Setup.exe
[ResponseResult]
[DPInst]
ShellExecuteCode=0
WaitForObjectCode=0
InstalledDriverVersion=
SetupDriverVersion=17.0.19
Certified=YES
User aborted

//===========================================================================
// Exit code = 0
// End of log: 2013-12-19 16:07:15
//===========================================================================

On Windows 8.1, I tried to install the latest Synaptics Touchpad Driver v17.0.19 (latest one) and it failed for some unknown reasons. Turns out it's problem with Synaptics, not Windows. See below for solutions.

added 840 characters in body
Source Link
KickAss
  • 309
  • 1
  • 3
  • 12
Loading
Source Link
KickAss
  • 309
  • 1
  • 3
  • 12
Loading